Is 20 Amp Fuse Cooked? Or Is It Me? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2013, 09:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


Several weeks ago a carpet cleaner guy plugged his machine into my wall plug. The outlet now no longer works. I tried to put a gfi socket in and no juice. Went to main box and clicked the black 20 amp fuse on and off several times. Still no
juice. Is it possible that the fuse has been destroyed? It is a thin 20amp fuse
that slides into a slot. When I put GFI socket in I removed the old regular socket . I have never run into this but the GFI (for kitchen) had a warning and some tape on the socket that warned that you had to put it in right. I think I did
but only because I am at a total loss to figure out what to do next.
Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

humbleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:36 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


By the use of electrical terminology, I'd say your next step is to call an electrician.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
electricalwork (06-16-2013), frenchelectrican (06-15-2013), Gac66610 (06-16-2013), gregzoll (06-16-2013), jbfan (06-16-2013), Kyle_in_rure (06-15-2013), mm11 (06-15-2013), old_squid (06-16-2013), Oso954 (06-16-2013), RWolff (06-15-2013), Speedy Petey (06-15-2013)
Old 06-15-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


There's no such bird in your house box as a "thin 20 amp fuse" it's a circuit breaker.
and yes, it's possible your circuit breaker is defective and needs to be replaced.
RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:26 AM   #4
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


Quote:
Originally Posted by humbleton View Post
Several weeks ago a carpet cleaner guy plugged his machine into my wall plug. The outlet now no longer works. I tried to put a gfi socket in and no juice. Went to main box and clicked the black 20 amp fuse on and off several times. Still no
juice. Is it possible that the fuse has been destroyed? It is a thin 20amp fuse
that slides into a slot. When I put GFI socket in I removed the old regular socket . I have never run into this but the GFI (for kitchen) had a warning and some tape on the socket that warned that you had to put it in right. I think I did
but only because I am at a total loss to figure out what to do next.
Thanks in advance.
Did you turn the breaker all the way off(till it 'clicks'), then back on?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 07:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


Quote:
Originally Posted by humbleton View Post
Several weeks ago a carpet cleaner guy plugged his machine into my wall plug. The outlet now no longer works. I tried to put a gfi socket in and no juice. Went to main box and clicked the black 20 amp fuse on and off several times. Still no
juice. Is it possible that the fuse has been destroyed? It is a thin 20amp fuse
that slides into a slot. When I put GFI socket in I removed the old regular socket . I have never run into this but the GFI (for kitchen) had a warning and some tape on the socket that warned that you had to put it in right. I think I did
but only because I am at a total loss to figure out what to do next.
Thanks in advance.
Have you measured the voltage at the breaker terminal after you flipped the breaker back on?

Are any other receptacles dead?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


OP. Don't open that panel. Reset the breaker (check all of them in the panel) and if it still does not work, check all the GFCI receptacles around the inside and outside of the house.
Test each one by pushing the test button and then pushing in firmly the reset button.
Make sure its reset! All of them!

If you still have no power at the receptacle, call a professional.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 09:00 PM   #7
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

Is 20 amp fuse cooked? Or is it me?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
OP. Don't open that panel. Reset the breaker (check all of them in the panel) and if it still does not work, check all the GFCI receptacles around the inside and outside of the house.
Test each one by pushing the test button and then pushing in firmly the reset button.
Make sure its reset! All of them!

If you still have no power at the receptacle, call a professional.
Amen. Its not a socket, its a receptacle. A socket is something an auto mechanic uses. Its not a fuse, its a circuit Breaker. Fuses went out years ago. Do as this poster says, and then call a professional. Electricity can kill.

Advertisement

__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 amp , gfi , no power


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse for chandelier with 12-volt transformer? S_Jeff Electrical 1 08-16-2012 12:19 AM
FA4BNF024 HVAC Unit - Blows 5 amp low voltage fuse intermitently ArmyChief HVAC 33 01-28-2012 02:22 PM
New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing DIYerIT HVAC 2 01-08-2012 05:22 PM
big fuse problem randallatha Electrical 6 01-02-2011 12:07 PM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts