20 Amp Breaker On 15 Amp Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 11:52 AM   #1
Graduate of Wiring 1-2-3
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


My friend and I are talking about renovating a barn. I think there should be a 20 amp outlet on a circuit of 12-2 wire with a 20 amp breaker. He says it's OK to have a 15 amp outlet at the end of a 20 amp circuit because anything you plug in will take less than 20 amps. Think of it this way, he argues, the breaker only protects the wires, not the outlet. Worst case, he says, you plug in something that sucks up more than 15 amps and the outlet melts, the wires remain intact. What do you think?

Advertisement

Lurlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


Most 15a outlets are rated for 20a pass thru
And 15a duplex outlets are allowed on 20a circuits
Most (if not all) new construction uses the 15a outlets on 20a circuit
The breaker protects everything that is connected to it

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 01:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


You just need at least two receptacles and they can be 15 amp on the 20 amp circuit. Top and bottom of one duplex receptacle unit qualifies.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-01-2010 at 01:33 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 10:05 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


The other thing you mention barn if so it have to be RCD { GFCI } protected there is no extempts on this useage.

However there is a step or two add to it if you have livestock { farm aminals } the code will change a bit if that the case let us know there is other legit way you can do it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 10:22 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,900
Rewards Points: 2,154
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurlene View Post
My friend and I are talking about renovating a barn. I think there should be a 20 amp outlet on a circuit of 12-2 wire with a 20 amp breaker. He says it's OK to have a 15 amp outlet at the end of a 20 amp circuit because anything you plug in will take less than 20 amps. Think of it this way, he argues, the breaker only protects the wires, not the outlet. Worst case, he says, you plug in something that sucks up more than 15 amps and the outlet melts, the wires remain intact. What do you think?
Your friend is right, but for completely the wrong reason.


The bold part above is just plain silly. I know that is obvious to someone like me, but it should be common sense to even lay folks.
Think about it, the receptacle is NOT a breaker or overcurrent device. There is nothing in it that would melt, disintegrate, etc, if too much amperage is drawn.
Also, a 15a duplex receptacle is TWO 15a receptacles. The reason you can have one on a 20a circuit is as Scuba said. They are rated for 20a feed-thru. So even if you have a 10a load plugged into both receptacles of a 15a duplex the breaker will not trip and the device will not self destruct.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 10:26 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


If you are serious about this one just take the common 15 amp receptale apart and do the same with 20 amp verison you will see the same guts that about it. { cheap one to cheap one }

The only diffrence is the face itself.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 09:35 AM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


I'm trying to remember when I last saw a 120V appliance or tool that had a 20 amp plug on it.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:25 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
I'm trying to remember when I last saw a 120V appliance or tool that had a 20 amp plug on it.
Not very many that I know of and one welder I know they did use 20 amp plug end but that kinda very limited and couple of super fancy microwave oven but very limited on resdentail side but commercal side yeah I have see few but not really widespread.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:56 PM   #9
Graduate of Wiring 1-2-3
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


Thanks for the responses! I feel satisfied that 15A outlets will be OK on a 20A circuit. Mostly because I found the 20 A feed through note on the box.
Attached Thumbnails
20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet-20apassthru.jpg  
Lurlene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 10:50 AM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

20 amp breaker on 15 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
I'm trying to remember when I last saw a 120V appliance or tool that had a 20 amp plug on it.

the last appliance I saw with one was a window air conditioner and a drill at work. For the AC, it needed it's own circuit anyway so that got installed properly. For the drill at work, somebody simply twisted the neutral prong on the plug so it would fit in a 15 amp recep. (and no, it was not me)

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
An outlet died, how to find out where it is connected and grounding problems Korhan Electrical 3 09-23-2009 06:52 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 06:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts