20 Amp 240 Volt - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

20 amp 240 volt


I have a well pump that works on a 20 amp 240 volt plug. Generator does not have a outlet for this plug, but has a 30 amp 240 0utlet. How can I use this outlet on my generator for my well pump when I lose power to my pump.

Advertisement

Don Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:28 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20 amp 240 volt


figure out a way to fuse it down to 20A and your good to go. Might have to run it through a 20A fused disconnect or equivalent.

Advertisement

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:29 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

20 amp 240 volt


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
figure out a way to fuse it down to 20A and your good to go. Might have to run it through a 20A fused disconnect or equivalent.
The motor will have internal thermal protection, so I wouldn't worry about that aspect of it.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 10:34 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

20 amp 240 volt


good point, and the gfci on the genny should still function fine. So really all he needs to do is build himself a cord with a 30A twistlock and a 20A receptacle then?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
Don Moore (07-13-2012)
Old 07-12-2012, 10:37 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

20 amp 240 volt


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
good point, and the gfci on the genny should still function fine. So really all he needs to do is build himself a cord with a 30A twistlock and a 20A receptacle then?

Thats my thinking on it... I was going to recommend a Reliance 2 circuit transfer switch, just to avoid the cord issue....


Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-12-2012 at 10:39 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Don Moore (07-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24 volt AC wiring in same conduit as 220 volt single phase and in same outdoor enclosure as 220 v silgle phase and 3 phase arbailey Electrical 5 05-24-2012 09:43 PM
12 Volt lighting AC or DC johnr9q Electrical 20 11-21-2010 02:12 PM
Want to change a single 240 volt circuit with only one outlet, to a 120 volt circuit with a standard 120 volt outlet. covenant Electrical 7 11-09-2010 07:07 PM
240 volt circuit and 120 volt circuit to shed fortop Electrical 27 06-26-2010 12:37 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts