Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2014, 05:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 wire light switch


Hi

I am changing a pull cord light switch to a motion sensor one but after opening the old light switch it only has a black and red wire and the black goes to common on the old pull switch the new sensor has 3 wires how do I wire?

Giles

Giles39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 05:33 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,859
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

2 wire light switch


If the third wire that is needed is a neutral---you will need to add a neutral to the box.

Odd set up--pull chain switches are usually part of a light fixture--and a light fixture has a neutral--More info please.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshoot a 4-way switch circuit: instructions for a 2-year-old pete0403 Electrical 12 04-13-2014 06:54 PM
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Light fan burn out, wall switch backwards later LOYD DUNCAN Electrical 1 09-18-2012 06:49 AM
hard wire from light switch and outlet pennyeagle Electrical 0 08-27-2011 01:00 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.