Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 02:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

2 way switches


how do i wire 1 light fixture with a 2-way switch

kerry haughey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Default

2 way switches


Not sure I understand the question. The switch interupts the hot line side of the light. Hot to one side of switch, the other side of the switch to the light, with neutral and ground supplied to the light.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

2 way switches


Perhaps the OP means a 3-way switch (light operated from 2 different switches)?
If so, search this site or google the term; it has been covered multiple times or post your particulars.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:41 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,392
Default

2 way switches


There are at least five different configurations that will work. It depends if the power is at the light or one of the swithces. It depends if the switches are one either side or one side of light etc. We need a lot more details.

Here are some of the options.

http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/switc...-way/index.php
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 05:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

2 way switches


[quote=bob22;681901] (light operated from 2 different switches)?

In Australia this is called a two way switch,
Any idea's why you call this a three way switch ?
To us a three way switch,
would have three switchs,
also possible,
with the correct type of switchs used.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

2 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Any idea's why you call this a three way switch ?
I think the reason is that there are three possible switch position combinations: both up, both down, or one up and one down (which are equivalent). Thus, there are three "ways" the switches can be flipped.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

2 way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
I think the reason is that there are three possible switch position combinations: both up, both down, or one up and one down (which are equivalent). Thus, there are three "ways" the switches can be flipped.

Sounds logical !
Thanks for the repy !

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right curious1 Electrical 1 10-26-2010 10:26 PM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.