Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Question

2 unit help...


I just bought a 2 unit home..but....found there is only one 200 amp meter and electrical panel... I want to keep the main unit (1000sq.ft)downstairs on the 200 amp panel (where I will live), and the second unit upstairs a 100 amp panel since its smaller 700sq.ft.
Do i need a 200 amp double meter? What size service feeder? and disconnects???? HELP!!

landlordhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:25 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

2 unit help...


In many places you can simply add a 100A service right next to the existing one.

Are you doing this or will you hire an electrician? What is your level of expertise?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:31 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 unit help...


I've done electrical work in the past and can change service.... the electic company says the meter has to be moved to the other side of the house so i will put the disconnects there and the existing pane will stay where it is and the 100amp panel will be installed in the upstairs apartment..
Will i need a 2 meter 200 amp meterbase & 200 amp disconnects or can i wire a 100 amp disconnect off one side of the meter with 100amp service cable... is that allowed by code?
landlordhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:32 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 unit help...


I've done electrical work in the past and can change service.... the electic company says the meter has to be moved to the other side of the house so i will put the disconnects there and the existing pane will stay where it is and the 100amp panel will be installed in the upstairs apartment..
Will i need a 2 meter 200 amp meterbase & 200 amp disconnects or can i wire a 100 amp disconnect off one side of the meter with 100amp service cable... is that allowed by code?
landlordhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 08:27 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

2 unit help...


Depending on the existing wiring, this may not be even possible without a major rewire of the house. I would bet that, if the house has always had one service, that the circuits are intermixed between the first floor and second floor.

I would check with the local electrical inspector as he MAY require a third panel for the "public" areas.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 08:38 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 unit help...


Ill be living in the bigger apartment so a common area panel isn't an issue... and i already started seperating the circuits, it was easy since each apartment was wired seperately even though they all went to the same panel... I'm adding junction boxes were needed and have attic access to run new homeruns to the upstairs unit..
landlordhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 08:58 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

2 unit help...


Keep in mind that when you are running new home runs, the circuits you connect them to will need to follow the current code cycle for your area.

For example: If you need to refeed a kitchen circuit, it will need to be a 20 A circuit, and the outlet you are refeeding will need to be a GFI. If you are refeeding a general lighting/outlet circuit, it will need to be put on a AFCI breaker.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:02 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 unit help...


It's actually wired correctly... the only new additional work is, remove all electric baseboard heaters and wires, add 2 central hvac units, wire the garage and 2 seperate laundry rooms.
landlordhelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:13 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

2 unit help...


I was just going off this statement...

Quote:
I'm adding junction boxes were needed and have attic access to run new homeruns to the upstairs unit..
But it seems as if you got it under control.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 09:34 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

2 unit help...


Quote:
Originally Posted by landlordhelp View Post
I just bought a 2 unit home..but....found there is only one 200 amp meter and electrical panel... I want to keep the main unit (1000sq.ft)downstairs on the 200 amp panel (where I will live), and the second unit upstairs a 100 amp panel since its smaller 700sq.ft.
Do i need a 200 amp double meter? What size service feeder? and disconnects???? HELP!!
Typically, we would install a 150 A service with 2 100 Amp panels.

You might be able to install a 2/G (duplex) meter/main combo with 100 A mains and reuse the 200 A panel, but I would check with the electrical inspector before assuming anything.

If you install 100 A mains, you would need to run #3 CU or #2 4-wire SER cable between the mains and sub panels. The line side of the meters would decide on what size the service coming to the house is rated at. I have learned thru these forums, there are a multitude of different local and POCO requirements to tell you for sure what are normal sizes for your area. This is why I recommend discussing the service change with the AHJ.

Shoot, we don't even know if you can legally do the work in your area.


Last edited by k_buz; 04-05-2012 at 09:42 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
200amp, meter, muli unit, panel, service


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 05:07 AM
Old carrier unit trouble hdbg62 HVAC 18 06-29-2011 09:57 PM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 04:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 08:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.