Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2007, 06:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


I am trying to instll a new ceiling light. I need to know how to take one switch from another light and control the new light. The other light has 2 switches and I only need one please help

gmcclel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 06:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 330
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


you should call an electrician.

send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 07:31 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,372
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


You need to tell us all the wire connections in the existing light switches and existing light box. Then tell use what cable you are going to run from the new light to which switch.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2007, 10:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


the switch I wanna use has black,red,white the common is white the same color also goes for the other switch. the lamp has blk and white also the green for negative
gmcclel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 06:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


There is no positive and negative in housewiring.

The green wire is not the negative, it is the ground wire. It should not be connected to the screw shell of the light. It should be connected to any other metal parts of the light fixture and any metal boxes etc.

You need to answer joed's question in much more detail before we can help you. Start with switch box A and tell us all the wires and connections in there. Next tell us about switch box B and third tell us about the light fixture.

We may have more questions after the above are answered.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 09:45 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,372
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


You don't have enough wires. Three wires at each switch and two wires at the light is not enough to make it work. You need at least one more cable (two wires) for a power source.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 09:00 PM   #7
Diesel Fitter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 159
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


Why r u removing the 2nd switch on the 3 way the 1rst will still control the new fixture irregardless of #2?
mikemy6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


Ok the switch I wanna use only has 4 wires in the box red,white,blk,copper. the box that I want to continue to use has 2 switches in it. 1 for the car port light and the other to control the light in the dining room. the switch for the carport has a red,blk,whte and copper the switch for the othr one one has a red,whte,blk,copper.That is all the wires in there. the light i am going to use has 5 blk and 5 white. Which i tie all blk' s together except 1 and all whte except one. Also a green wire with a screw on it that attaches to the base of the light that is all
gmcclel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 11:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 330
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


See my post above
send_it_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 01:30 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 220
Default

2 switches to same light use 1 for another light


You also need to know the wiring going to the existing light box itself to confirm how the 3 way is confirgured, there's a few way to wire up a 3 way system... but I would recommend you call an electrician as well...

slakker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Voltage Light Switches...40 year old house derekspudich Electrical 28 08-22-2011 12:34 AM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 03:18 PM
Where to buy paddle light switches in bulk? Proulx06 Electrical 3 05-21-2007 06:43 AM
Light switches (uk) davegold2 Electrical 1 12-10-2006 06:26 PM
Bathroom light switches Blaze25 Electrical 3 11-13-2006 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.