2 Switches 2 Lights Line In Through Light 1 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2009, 10:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Hello,
Thanks for helping me out here. I need to put up security lighting on the outside of the home real soon, if fact I have the units. (2) RAB 300 watt motion controlled lights. I am thinking because of the draw (600w) i should bring in one circuit to run these. If so does anyone have a diagram of that? I also read that these need to be seperated by two switches because of some memory or auto feature? I have email the Man. about this, no luck yet.
My desciption -
power line in; to light #1; through to switch #1; to switch #2; line to light #2.
The first light is within 10 ft of breaker panel. Straight accross the attic to the switches are about 25 feet from the first light, then light #2 is ten feet or so futher on.
The switches will be in the wall of the garage, I will replace a single gang with a three gang box, but I cant "See" the connection at the lights.
I could rob power from a recep. very close to the swithes and check whats on the circuit at the time with amp meter?
Thanks!

Advertisement

bldaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1-elcodedblack.jpg
I found a simple picture for a one light one switch that I think I can use. I would add pigtails at switch #1 to switch #2 and on to light #2.
Any additons are greatfully appreiciated

Advertisement

bldaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:35 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,373
Rewards Points: 3,540
Blog Entries: 4
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


You will need a 14/3 from the first light to the first switch.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 12-24-2009 at 11:51 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:50 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Two control a single (or multiple) light fixture with more than one switch, you need to use a three-way switch. You can't just pigtail off one normal switch to another. See this diagram for your scenario...


__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 11:53 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Actually, my picture doesn't exactly match your setup. This link has a bunch of different 3-way diagrams. All of them are essentially doing the same thing, but it gets a little confusing when you switch the order of the devices.

http://www.homeimprovementweb.com/in...way-switch.htm

On second thought....am I wrong in thinking this will be a 3-way setup?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Yes, I am afraid so. It is two lights being run by two separate switchs, the line in or power for both lights is coming from and through the first light, being that is closest to a source.
Would you agree on the previous picture as a correct diagram?
Thanks Guys!
bldaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 02:59 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


It's not exactly the same...since that diagram has the power into the first fixture (like yours) and then to the second fixture (not like yours).

Once you understand how three way switches work, it's fairly easy to figure out how to wire it.

Here's something to get you started...
http://www.indepthinfo.com/3-way-swi...xplained.shtml
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


I guess I am not good at telling people what I mean. Each light will be switched by one switch only, not a three way switch for sure.
There is two lights and i want to be able to turn them on by switch (or off) the convienient palce is the garage and i can snake it down the wall there. The best sorce for power would be a new breaker at the panel from the East end and run all the way to the West end of the house about 45 feet all together.
Thanks
bldaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:23 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,373
Rewards Points: 3,540
Blog Entries: 4
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Based on your description in post #1 of light-switch-switch-light, the drawing in post #3 is the correct one.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:42 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1


Thanks Joed!
I printed it so i can refresh my memory. I will get to it on Saturday. I will send some pics if i can remember.

Advertisement

bldaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power through a light


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Outdoor lights on Kitchen Light Circuit WaldenL Electrical 5 08-28-2009 02:16 PM
2 switches, 2 lights, one 14/3? sstrick500 Electrical 2 06-22-2009 08:01 AM
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 08:34 AM
Dimmer didn't work, now old light switches don't work properly townpump Electrical 9 03-16-2008 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts