2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Okay, here is my deal. I want to set up a room with 2 lights, each on their own switch, with 1 receptacle down stream from that. I have my line from the panel going into the switch box. I have no problem wiring up the two lights on independent switches, but my question is how do I wire up the receptacle so it has constant power downstream?

I get the feeling that if I connect the neutrals and pigtail the hots to the switches that my receptacle will not work properly.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 09:39 AM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Either run a 2 wire directly from the switch box to the receptacle, or use 3 wire from the switch box to the light then 2 wire from the light to the receptacle. If you’re going through the lights, you’ll need a switched wire and a constant hot wire. Do you know how to set that up?

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 11:52 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,334
Rewards Points: 3,462
Blog Entries: 4
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Connect all the neutrals together.
When you connect the switches the hot wire will go to both switches AND the receptacle hot. The the lights have their individual hot wires go to the other terminal on each switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
RickyBobby (05-12-2011)
Old 05-12-2011, 11:54 AM   #4
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Thanks Kyle.

I can easily run a separate line for the receptacle from the switch box. In doing so, are all like wires nutted together with 2 hot pigtails going to the switches?
RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 12:11 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Yep. All whites together, grounds together with 2 pigtails to ground the switches (additional one for the box if metal), source black to recept black and 2 pigtails to power the switches, leaving the 2 blacks for the lights…each goes on a switch.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
RickyBobby (05-12-2011)
Old 05-12-2011, 12:24 PM   #6
Next Time...New Build
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Thank you very much fellas. I definitely overthought the crap out of that one.

Joed, if you are bored you can hop the border and wire it if you want...

Thanks again!
RickyBobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 02:46 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,334
Rewards Points: 3,462
Blog Entries: 4
Default

2 Switches / 2 Lights / 1 Receptacle


Take me longer to get there than to do it.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Adding Switches for Pot Lights and Ceiling Fan Evil Scotsman Electrical 2 04-07-2011 09:21 AM
low voltage reading at receptacle 2 ball cane Electrical 5 04-06-2011 01:07 AM
2 switches, 2 lights, one 14/3? sstrick500 Electrical 2 06-22-2009 08:01 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 09:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->