Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 1,032
Question

2 subpanel questions


1. if i install a subpanel that is fed off of the existing main panel, and i connect the ground of the subpanel to the ground bus on the main panel, does the subpanel still need to be grounded, i.e. connected to a grounding rod outside? i think the answer to this is yes because that is how i was told it needed to be done for my detached shed and i did it like that and everything works fine. however, the one difference here is that both the main and the subpanel are in the same physical building whereas the shed is detached and i was wondering if the grounding requirements may be less strict because of that. if i have to connect it to a new grounding rod, the subpanel option is out the door cause it would be very difficult to set one (very limited patches of dirt between the house and the street).

2. is it possible to put a meter on a subpanel? e.g. if i have tenants living in one of the apartments and they have their own panel with such a meter mounted before the wire goes in, can it be used to gauge their usage vs. the total monthly bill? obviously, the best solution would be to get separate meters but that is hellishly expensive in my area and i cannot afford it right now.

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:11 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,709
Rewards Points: 2,092
Default

2 subpanel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
...a subpanel that is fed off of the existing main panel, and i connect the ground of the subpanel to the ground bus on the main panel...
the 4 conductors and BONDING to the water pipe should/will be adequate
Quote:
...possible to put a meter on a subpanel?
sorta... you could use an aftermarket and non PSC approved meter.

You also might be able to put in a meter pack... but this Q is more about zoning issues and whether you can have two SERVICES there but probably not.

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

2 subpanel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
1. if i install a subpanel that is fed off of the existing main panel, and i connect the ground of the subpanel to the ground bus on the main panel, does the subpanel still need to be grounded, i.e. connected to a grounding rod outside? i think the answer to this is yes because that is how i was told it needed to be done for my detached shed and i did it like that and everything works fine. however, the one difference here is that both the main and the subpanel are in the same physical building whereas the shed is detached and i was wondering if the grounding requirements may be less strict because of that. if i have to connect it to a new grounding rod, the subpanel option is out the door cause it would be very difficult to set one (very limited patches of dirt between the house and the street).
A sub panel in the same structure would only require a 4 wire feeder. No attachment to rods. Grounds and neutrals separate buss bars. Can bonded to ground.

Quote:
2. is it possible to put a meter on a subpanel? e.g. if i have tenants living in one of the apartments and they have their own panel with such a meter mounted before the wire goes in, can it be used to gauge their usage vs. the total monthly bill? obviously, the best solution would be to get separate meters but that is hellishly expensive in my area and i cannot afford it right now.

thanks
Privately metering a tenant is prohibited is illegal in many areas. If allowed, doubtful, charging anything over actual usage is illegal.

Does your tenant have access to his/her breakers?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

2 subpanel questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
the 4 conductors and BONDING to the water pipe should/will be adequate
No need to bond sub panel to water pipe. 4 wire feed is all that is needed.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding subpanel next to main box insane_drummer Electrical 25 06-10-2011 11:39 AM
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 03:23 PM
Another subpanel question:) primal65 Electrical 15 06-22-2008 10:43 AM
Subpanel installation in outbuilding fls Electrical 19 03-16-2008 03:19 PM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 01:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.