Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2009, 11:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 speed fan to one speed High


Good morning, last night I installed a whole house fan controlled by a timer. I do not want the low speed capability, just on, and off. coming off the motor per the diagram is a black wire labled, HI, and red wire labled low, and a white wire (com). I simply connected black, to black, and white to white, and did not hook up the red. Fan works fine, but now I am wondering...is it on high? Do I need to hook up the red to something? Do I connnect the red and the black together to get high? Anyone?

U-2 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 11:39 AM   #2
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2 speed fan to one speed High


I would check the manufactures website for an installation guide. Just by what you have described I would say you have it hooked up correctly. Connecting the Red & Black would more than likely damage your unit. It's prbly configured to run on a 2 pole switch.

BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 12:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 speed fan to one speed High


thanx! It ran for 4 hours last night, just wanted to make sure that it was on high
U-2 Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 09:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 speed fan to one speed High


If you want to see the differance, disconnect the fan black and connect the fan red to the power black, it should then run on low speed.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:46 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,618
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

2 speed fan to one speed High


You have it connected correctly. Just make sure that the red lead is insulated, and can't touch anything.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to build a single phase induction motor sashman Electrical 3 03-31-2011 07:18 AM
Chain saw Barry J Landscaping & Lawn Care 7 01-28-2009 01:11 AM
Trane XV80 - low speed fan not working oregondean HVAC 4 01-12-2009 12:46 PM
Question about regular & high speed USB's mact60 PC Repairs & Upgrades 3 08-01-2008 05:55 PM
Two Speed Compressors rjordan392 HVAC 2 08-26-2007 01:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.