Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

2 Red Wires to install a Chandelier


I removed my old chandelier because we got a new one. When I took off the old one it was showing two red wires. I didn't really think about it until I installed the new chandelier and now I'm only getting light that is coming out of my center piece of the my chandelier and other lights don't work.

Is it because of the two red wires, because I thought it had to have a black wire and a white wire coming out.

What should I do, what can I can do. Do I need to have a electrician do something. Thanks for your help.

thatsportsfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:25 PM   #2
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

2 Red Wires to install a Chandelier


How many wires did you have coming out all together? What colors?

Sounds like the light fixture has 2 separate lighting modules and you only have 1 wired up. You see this more with ceiling fans. Sometimes they will branch them out so you can run 2 light switches (1 for fan, 1 for lights).

BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:27 PM   #3
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

2 Red Wires to install a Chandelier


Well before you remove the fixture again. Check the body of the light and see if there's any switches.. sometimes there's a switch you can turn or toggle to turn on different portions of the light.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

2 Red Wires to install a Chandelier


Quote:
Originally Posted by BowDown View Post
Well before you remove the fixture again. Check the body of the light and see if there's any switches.. sometimes there's a switch you can turn or toggle to turn on different portions of the light.
Both of them are red.

But you do have a point about there being a switch, I remember my wife telling me about a switch on it while we were trying to install it. Maybe she played around with it and it turned it off. Good point. Thanks for the help, I will check that when I get home and see if that was the problems.
thatsportsfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM
installing an electrical outlet with 3 sets of wires + ground dsparks Electrical 7 07-08-2009 06:18 PM
Installing a chandelier preciouschristy Electrical 2 07-06-2009 04:35 AM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.