Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-03-2012, 06:54 PM   #1

Share |

2 Prong Outlets

I'm a total noob so bare with me!

The home I just bought was built in 1927, and has knob/tube wiring with 2 prong outlets. I'm exploring options so I can have 3 prong outlets, that are grounded. A friend said I should be able to just add GFCI outlets all over and that would satisfy things, another friend said that is BS and the outlet needs to be metal frame for the GFCI to ground to, and another friend said they are both wrong, no way to get a ground for a k/t setup, and I need to run all new electrical. I'm sure this is basic stuff, but I'm buried with stuff and was hoping someone could give me a quick electrical 101? Thanks in advance!

MOD220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:04 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

2 Prong Outlets

Friend #3 is right!
You can add a gfci and get a 3 prong receptacle without a ground.

Old 04-03-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
Just a DIY guy

2 Prong Outlets

knob and tube can be dangerous, especially after 85 years, and should be replaced. None of your outlets or appliances will ever be protected by grounding. Plus, you can't insulate your walls or anywhere else the K&T runs.

http://www.nachi.org/knob-and-tube.htm

http://www.knobandtubewiring.com/

In 1996 I had an insurance company turn me down when I bought a 1938 home with original wiring, which was flex conduit and a 4-fuse panel (house was only 920 square feet), which is way better than knob and tube. So I'm surprised anyone insures a K&T home these days.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:02 PM   #4

2 Prong Outlets

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete View Post