Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 08:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

2 pole GFCI


I bought an older home. It has an irrigation system for the lawn. The pump is 240 volt and is powered by only 2 wires, no neutral or Ground wire from a 20 amp 2 pole breaker. I would like to replace the old breaker and install a 2 pole GFCI 240 Volt breaker. Is this OK or must I run new conductors.
Chas1022

chas1022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:54 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

2 pole GFCI


That's a great idea, and will definitely make it a safer installation. You do not need to run new wire. However, 2-pole 20A GFCI breakers are uncommon and tend to be very expensive. If the pump is close to the panel, it may be cheaper to run new wire with ground rather than install a GFCI breaker. Also be aware that the GFCI may instantly trip (or at least occasionally trip) from a ground fault that you don't know is already there. Of course it's just doing its job and shutting down a hazardous situation, but it may create a lot more work for you if you discover that the pump motor has an internal fault. If this happens, don't just switch back to the non-GFCI breaker - fix the fault! Few GFCI trips are really "nuisance" trips - it's usually a real ground fault that just hasn't killed anyone yet.

Just to be sure... The pump isn't fed by two wires in metallic conduit, right? Because if so, the conduit is the grounding conductor and there's really no need to do anything to improve it as long as the conduit is intact.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

2 pole GFCI


Thank You for your responce to my question.
No metallic tubing, Pump is not grounded in any way. Really a dumb way to install the pump. There is a motor starter relay and a 240 volt manual switch located at the pump. I thought that a GFCI breaker would protect every thing. GFCI 2 pole 20 amp = $145.00. Cheap if it saves a life.
Chas1022
chas1022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:21 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

2 pole GFCI


Go for it. If it trips, then you'll probably have to replace the pump. But that's a better way to discover a ground fault than by leaning against the pump while it's running.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double pole GFCI tripping jeffrs Electrical 0 02-27-2012 11:39 AM
GE 30 amp 2 pole GFCI plowboy Electrical 1 11-05-2011 05:26 AM
GFCI and Single Pole Switch bob9785 Electrical 8 07-16-2011 11:05 AM
GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo II Weeks Electrical 12 04-10-2009 05:57 PM
40 amp double pole gfci problem rivers Electrical 38 07-19-2008 12:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.