Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2011, 10:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 pole breaker


is a 2 pole breaker with two handles that are tied together and marked 30a on each side a 30 amp breaker or 60 amp?

waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:14 AM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 pole breaker


2 POLE/30 AMP.

used for 240v loads mainly

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 11:36 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 pole breaker


As Techy said, 30A. Each 'leg' is protected individually up to 30 amps, but if one leg exceeds that, the handle tie makes them both shut off.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purpose of 30amp single pole breaker Giles Electrical 5 02-16-2010 09:30 PM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 11:21 AM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 05:15 AM
Three way light switches and double pole breaker ShawnColes Electrical 6 04-15-2008 08:25 PM
2 pole breaker Unregistered Electrical 3 09-11-2004 11:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.