Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2011, 03:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


I will be adding in another meter box to separate the cost of electricity between 2 rooms. Does anyone know how the electric company will be running the neutral cable, ground, and hot wires? Will they be connecting the new ground and neutral to the old box since it is close by each other. (the two meters will be next to each other) For example, if for instance my house had a meter to it, and i wanted to add a small room in the backyard with another meter, is it possible to connect ground wires to the old breaker box even tho they both have separate meters? or does it need its own grounding rod?


Last edited by watsupbud; 07-21-2011 at 03:52 AM. Reason: add
watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 04:15 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


You are typically limited to one service per building. There are aftermarket plug in meters that would probably do what you need. You could also google e-mon d-mons.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 04:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You are typically limited to one service per building. There are aftermarket plug in meters that would probably do what you need. You could also google e-mon d-mons.
Well i was just wondering on how they were going to do the ground wire because they will be putting the meters next to each other. Are they going to have it connected to its own ground rod or will they connect it to the old meter box. Im just curious on how they are going to run the ground.
watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 06:38 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


The POCOS I am familiar with have nothing to do with the ground wires on services. The contractor/installer is responsible for them.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-21-2011)
Old 07-21-2011, 08:36 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The POCOS I am familiar with have nothing to do with the ground wires on services. The contractor/installer is responsible for them.
Yes, and even the meter pan could be set by the installer

OP, have you had a discussion with your power company? You will have to install another breaker panel too.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


Yes i have, but i didnt go into detail on how they were going to run the wires. Mayb im not asking the question right. For example, my house has a ground rod and so does my neighbors. Is it possible for my neighbor to have all their wires as is except the ground wire, be connected to my ground rod? Basically my neighbor shares only the ground rod with me and all their others stay the same in the panel. The reason im asking because they are going to charge me more for another ground rod and also for labor digging up the ground. I was just wondering if this was possible. Thanks in advance guys
watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:43 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


This is NOT the responsibility of the POCO. It is the responsibility of whoever it is you hire to do the job. The POCO just provides power to line side of the meter. They typically have nothing to do after the meter.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:50 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is NOT the responsibility of the POCO. It is the responsibility of whoever it is you hire to do the job. The POCO just provides power to line side of the meter. They typically have nothing to do after the meter.
I understand that, let say i hire someone. Is is possible to share the ground rod after the power line is in? or will i have to get a separate ground rod. Im not asking whose responsible, im just asking if ITS POSSIBLE TO DO SAFELY. Thanks
watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 05:54 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


A grounding electrode can be shared by two meters.

I do find it odd that one is being shared by two different properties.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 06:01 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

2 main circuits with separate meters.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
A grounding electrode can be shared by two meters.

I do find it odd that one is being shared by two different properties.
the building is actually in my back yard. i was just wondering because i didnt want to pay the company extra for an extra grounding rod, the dig, n so on for the the grounding. Thanks

watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving multiwire circuits WillK Electrical 5 06-21-2011 07:12 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 04:52 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 09:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.