Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 12:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 main breakers, one meter


the duplex has been converted to a single family residence, the new addition of the house uses one panel, the original panel left unchanged. currently there is 1 meter left, but 2 100amp main breakers, one connected, one not. can I connect both 100amp main breakers to the meter to get 200amp service?

jacky12b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 08:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

2 main breakers, one meter


I am not an electrician but from what I understand only an installation from the power company will give you 200 amps not the combination of 2 100 amps panels. I don't think you can have two main panels with just one meter. You can have a main panel and a sub panel. But from what I understand you can not just connect them to each other. There are grounding and bonding issues which I am not 100% informed on and still trying to learn. Also, I don't know if you do the main panel and subpanel approach if your sub panel is allowed to have the same 100 amp breaker as your main panel. I am thinking the breaker should be smaller. I am sure you will get your answers soon you have a lot of pretty smart guys in here.

__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:00 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

2 main breakers, one meter


You can have two mains off one meter. In fact you have up to six.

To do what you want it would be a lot easier to simply do a 200A upgrade.

To keep the two panels you will still need to replace the double 100A meter pan with a single 200. Then you would have to work a splice box or trough into the service entrance to split the 200 into two 100's. I don;t think you'll find a residential 200A meter pan capable of dual load lugs. You CANNOT tap two SE cables onto the single lugs of a meter pan.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 09:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

2 main breakers, one meter


Thanks for the lesson. Learned something new today.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pushmatic Panel, no main, no 2.p. breakers avery2008 Electrical 8 05-02-2009 03:51 PM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 08:26 PM
Running new Main supply from Meter PEX or PVC? twilightcall Plumbing 7 08-03-2008 08:00 AM
Turning main power supply off from the meter amakarevic Electrical 2 05-22-2007 11:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.