Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right


First off.. hi all.. I'm a DIY guy as much as I can be and recently redecortaing my dining room I decided to change the light switches, only I can't figure out how or Why it's wired the way it is and what to do about it.

I have a hall light with 2 switches, and and the garage hall light with one switch

but when I went to change the switches I found 2x three way switches (one on each light) and a 4 way (I think-it had 2 wires marked input and 2 marked output red and white on each)

The only thing that makes sense to me is the 3 way on the garage hall is only there to get power from one of the other switches, it should be the only switch controlling that light. But now both lights come on together with most switches, and with some combos (having one switch off) one of the other switches will do nothing...

Also for I'm assuming the same reason the front 3 way switch had a connecting wire from the single switch connecting to the front light, it was going into the 'common' on the old 3 way.

(. are just used for space)

..........................4way?
...........................|
..........................Light
3way-------Light....|
..........................3way-<hot>-1way(to front porch light)

Is this the right way to do it? I bought 3x 3ways not realizing the '4way' was there, but can I do it with just 3 ways? I realize the 'question' is a little vague, but I"m looking for some insight on the way this is set up


Last edited by curious1; 10-24-2010 at 07:57 PM.
curious1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

2 Lights & 3 switches, doesn't look right


Do you know how the wires go between the lights and switches and what colors they are?

If you have a 4 way switch setup, it is possible to use two 3-way switches in place of one 4-way switch.

But it would be awkward. If you did not flip the pair of 3-ways in the 4-way location correctly, then the other locations woul dnot be able to control the light.

A 3-way switch can be used as an ordinary (single location) switch, with one of the traveler terminals left empty.

Occasionally you will run into a master-slave setup, where two switches are in line and both have to be on for the light to be on. (One master switch might control more than one slave subcircuit.) Or a shared light where both switches have to be off for the light to be off.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-26-2010 at 10:39 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 10:08 AM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Two switches between power and lights HooKooDooKu Electrical 4 04-19-2010 04:14 PM
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 12:06 PM
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 07:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.