2 Hot Wires From Switch - Previously A Switched Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 02:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet-img_0906-1-.jpg

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet-img_0908-1-.jpg

Hi,

I am trying to replace a half switched outlet with 2 switches.

I was able to replace the outlet that is half switched with another outlet without the tab broken. I did not change any wiring just unwired the old switch and rewired a new switch without a broken tab. Now both outlets worked us switched.

At the switch I want to have a total of 2 switches. 1 switch to control recessed lights and the other one to control a fan.

When I test the wires I have 2 black wires pigtailed together that are hot and then I have a single black wire that is hot. Plus 3 white wires that are wired together.

I am not sure how to wire these switches. Single poles switches.

If there was only one hot black wire I would just pigtail that hot wire to both of my incoming wires and then to the switch. Then I would pigtail the ground and the white neutral.

But I have 2 hot wires.

Also not sure if it has to do with this previously bring a switched outlet.

Advertisement


Last edited by eric6552; 06-14-2014 at 02:41 PM. Reason: Adding photos
eric6552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:00 PM   #2
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 550
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


Do you have 2 hot wires when switch is off? Check your wording.

Advertisement


Last edited by Robpo; 06-14-2014 at 03:16 PM.
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


ah...
what?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


There are different types of outlets.

lighting outlets, receptacle outlets.

lets call your wall plugs = receptacles, and your switches = switches.

It looks like you call your receptacles outlets then switches in the same sentence.

At your receptacle, you did not break of the tab so power is sent back to the switch that that half of the receptacle was controlled from.

At your switch location,
two black wires are spliced together with a pigtail coming from the splice to the switch.
That is probably your hot.

There's a single black, that's probably going out to something thats "switched", I'd say the receptacle that you replaced but something doesn't look right (but maybe they did go to that receptacle with 2-2 wires),
The neutrals (3) get spliced together.

How where those neutrals before you got to them, they don't look like they where spliced (too straight)?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:41 PM   #5
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 550
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


I think the OP wants two switches in one single box to control two separate receptacles separately in another box. I think I worded that right.
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:45 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


I "think" the OP wants a fan switch and light switch in that box.
But where's the fan and lights ?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:54 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


I would like each switch to control a fan and a light. the receptacle that was half switched I just want that to be powered on all the time and not be a switched receptacle.

Currently the 2 black wires are pigtailed together and they are hot. Not connected to a switch. Also the single black wire is hot not connected to a switch.

As far as the single black wire I do not know where it is coming from just that it is hot. Same for the 2 black wires that a tied together. This is all in the box where the switch is. Not the receptacle.

The neutrals have always been tied together.

I can add more pictures if needed.

Thanks for all the posting.
eric6552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:57 PM   #8
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 898
Rewards Points: 550
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
I "think" the OP wants a fan switch and light switch in that box.
But where's the fan and lights ?
You mean where's the box?
Robpo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:59 PM   #9
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


First things first, tie the noodles back together before you fry something
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by eric6552 View Post
Also the single black wire is hot not connected to a switch.
that's probably the wire that was feeding your receptacle for the switched outlet.
which you did't break the tab so it will always be hot.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:00 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


The box is where all the hot wires are. This is where I ran the 14-2 from the fan and lights.

I added a 2 gang box to support the additional switch. See photo.
Attached Thumbnails
2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet-img_0909-1-.jpg  

Last edited by eric6552; 06-14-2014 at 04:02 PM.
eric6552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:02 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robpo View Post
You mean where's the box?
I don't think there are any yet.

I think this is the star to the project.

1- make both receptacles on duplex outlet hot.
2- install high hat fixtures from a wall operated switch (dimmer).
3- install paddle fan from wall operated switch (speed control).
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:04 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


ok moving right along, the plot thickens

you're there.

splice it up
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:10 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


Do I just pigtail all 3 black wires and then run a wire to one of each of the switches?
eric6552 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:18 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

2 Hot Wires from Switch - Previously a Switched Outlet


leave the single black wire wire nutted and alone.
put it to the back of the box.

The two that are spliced with a pigtail.
Splice it so it has two pigtails.

one pigtail will go to each switch.

All whites together.

All grounds together with two pigtalis, one to each switch.

Advertisement

ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewire a switch that controls an outlet. z00ropa Electrical 8 10-23-2012 07:00 PM
Electrical wiring/ switch wiring - mixed wires tien009 Electrical 1 07-21-2012 11:53 PM
Combo light switch outlet re-wire question seasidediy Electrical 3 07-21-2011 06:02 AM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 10:20 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts