2 Ground Rods For Homes In Tx - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2012, 08:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


I only have one gr rod for my home I live in Bryan tx I don't know a lot about it and I've never heard of 2 gd rods here what is the purpose of 2 I've been hearing y'all talk about.

Advertisement

Kpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:25 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,035
Rewards Points: 2,868
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Unless it can be proved that the one rod is enough to get the resistance down below 25 ohms the code requires an additional electrode. It is easier to drive two rods and be down with it and avoid the need to show the inspector your testing of the one rod.

Once the second electrode is driven there is no requirement to keep adding electrodes to get below 25 ohms.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-14-2012)
Old 12-14-2012, 08:46 PM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


I believe the 2 ground rods were decided as an alternate to the one.with just one rod,code requires a rather expensive test to determine if it will fall below a certain #. I think 2 rods will not give you any more protection then the one you already have.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-14-2012), Speedy Petey (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 10:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


I have only one myself. It was inspected when I did the service upgrade about 15 years ago. I have no intentions to install another one, nor am I required to.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 10:58 AM   #5
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
I believe the 2 ground rods were decided as an alternate to the one.with just one rod,code requires a rather expensive test to determine if it will fall below a certain #. I think 2 rods will not give you any more protection then the one you already have.
It will give you more protection since each ground rod is on a different ground plane.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NJMarine For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
It will give you more protection since each ground rod is on a different ground plane.
In theory.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 11:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Two ground rods will lower the effective resistance to ground, thus providing a more conductive path. For example, if each ground rod is 30 ohms, two ground rods in parallel will present a resistance of 15 ohms. The lower the resistance, the more current will flow to ground, as opposed to some alternate path.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave632 For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 08:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 180
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


this and other recent ground rod discussions prompts me to ask the following question. If a service is bonded to an incoming copper water service, is any better protection provided by one or more ground rods? In my case the water service is about 40 feet away from the service entrance panel and any additional ground rods would be within a couple of feet of the panel. I understand that the cold water service ground met the code when the house was built in 1985. The copper water service is about 50 feet long to the street which is a cast iron main.

bernie
bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
I believe the 2 ground rods were decided as an alternate to the one.with just one rod,code requires a rather expensive test to determine if it will fall below a certain #. I think 2 rods will not give you any more protection then the one you already have.
The NEC does not require test. The inspector can request a megger test. Since he has to witness the test and can take several days to get to the job for the test. It is easier to drive the second rod and forget about it. Otherwise the EC can sit and wait for the EI to witness the test. If the test proves less than 25 ohms, no second rod is required.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012)
Old 12-15-2012, 09:24 PM   #10
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post

The NEC does not require test. The inspector can request a megger test. Since he has to witness the test and can take several days to get to the job for the test. It is easier to drive the second rod and forget about it. Otherwise the EC can sit and wait for the EI to witness the test. If the test proves less than 25 ohms, no second rod is required.
Well if there's no test then how does one know that 2 rods will do the job and not just one rod?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:33 PM   #11
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,761
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Well if there's no test then how does one know that 2 rods will do the job and not just one rod?
We don't. The NEC does not require more then two rods. I don't require the second rod. But if there is only one rod, I request the megger test. I have three days to complete the inspection including witness the test. It is cheaper to just drive two rods and be done with it.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-15-2012), NJMarine (12-16-2012)
Old 12-16-2012, 01:01 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 822
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Look up your power company provider web site on installation requirements.They require us to use 2 rods at least 6 feet apart,no asterick about only 1 if you can show 1 rod does the job. This is for new installs of course,not existing.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-16-2012)
Old 12-16-2012, 07:05 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


I should ask, if the building has an entering water pipe or a concrete reinforcing bar as a grounding electrode, is just one ground rod sufficient?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:21 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
I should ask, if the building has an entering water pipe or a concrete reinforcing bar as a grounding electrode, is just one ground rod sufficient?
Hey Allen you may have to start a new thread on that to get a answer
Kpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:32 AM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

2 ground rods for homes in tx


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
I should ask, if the building has an entering water pipe or a concrete reinforcing bar as a grounding electrode, is just one ground rod sufficient?
No. If you use rod[s], you must be less than 25 ohms or drive a second rod. Even if you have properly bonded the other electrodes.

Note: There is some issues that do arise with Ufers. Some people will tell you that all you need to do is bond to the Ufer and nothing else. However, in my area, the Ufer only takes the place of the rods, and you will have to bond to water if present.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-16-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bosch 11245EVS Rotary Hammer Drill for Ground Rods tedallen Tools 0 06-02-2012 05:52 PM
Hilti TE 52 for Driving Ground Rods tedallen Tools 6 04-23-2012 10:34 PM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 03:06 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
How many ground rods? Roaddoggie Electrical 8 10-24-2009 01:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts