Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2007, 06:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


Hi folks! I will be installing a new sub panel, 100A. i would like this neat and tidy, but above all safe. My branch circuits will be be coming in at both sides of the box, hots going to thier respective breakers and neutrals to thier new homes on both sides of the box. Since some of the grounds will not reach the bottom of the ground bar, I would like to install 2, one on each side. What is the proper way to bond them? Can I use lugs on each bar w/#6 or can I use the holes in the bar? Thanks an advance.

Paul_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


Number 6 ground from main panel to first ground bar. Number 6 ground from first ground bar to second ground bar.

Both ground bars mounted to the panel with machine screws in tapped holes, or with self tapping screws that are provided by the mfg of the panel.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


Thanks for the response. I was just curious if it is mandated that I use lugs when connecting the bars together. Great site. I could browse for hours!
Paul_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


the LUG is where you will turn the screw down to tighten the wire I mentioned above.

Yes you need those.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


Cool! I have plenty of 'em. Thanks again.
Paul_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 09:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Default

2 Ground Bars in sub panel


dont forget to float your neutrals.
-gooch

gooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 06:28 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM
wire to a workshop jim c Electrical 11 03-02-2007 03:41 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.