Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 03:08 PM   #1
Member
 
trekkiejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
Share |
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


Hello, I was planning on changing a 2 gang box for a 3-gang old work box (the kind that clamps to the drywall) and discovered when I opened the existing box that it is not nailed to the 2x4 frame on one side, it is screwed to the frame on top and bottom of the box just above and below where each switch mounted. Is there any way to add another gang to this box or change this box without removing some of the framing and enough drywall to need patching?

[IMG]www.galesburgelectric.com/files/images/large/d_11824.jpg[/IMG] This is the 3-gang box I have.
Attached Thumbnails
2-gang to 3-gang box-image-3136751802.jpg  

trekkiejt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,423
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


It seems to me you're hung up on connecting another box like that to the framing without disturbing the drywall. I don't think it will much. You should be able to trim out just enough drywall to screw a new 3 gang box in there. Then if you need to, simply put on a midsize or jumbo size cover plate, if there is a bit of drywall hole showing.

Just take out that one and put a 3 gang in its place.

jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


Those boxes can be broken apart. Grab between both sides where they connect and pull down and twist. Usually the come apart fairly easy. Or if you can get in there with tin snips may be able to cut the tabs off.

But since you are so close to that framing an old work box won't work so well. May be better to get a 3 gang metal box that you can just screw to the framing like the one that is there.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:07 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,935
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


I assume you are adding a third switch. Instead of adding a third gang use a 2 switch combo-switch.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:29 PM   #5
Member
 
trekkiejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


I am wanting to add an electrical outlet there but since it is in the kitchen it has to be GFCI as well as replace one of the regular switches with a wireless switch that I can use outside away from the house. The depth of those outlets/switches don't fit in those old boxes very well. I didn't know I could still buy a box with tabs like this one. One thing I noticed is that the screws are behind the drywall. Do I have to put more drywall back over the screws like they are now or can I just leave them uncovered?
trekkiejt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:21 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


Smart box would be the best way to go in your case.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:01 PM   #7
Member
 
trekkiejt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
Smart box would be the best way to go in your case.
I looked up that Smart Box and I will give it a try. Thanks.
trekkiejt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to trekkiejt For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-21-2013)
Old 01-22-2013, 10:01 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,682
Default

2-gang to 3-gang box


You can get deeper metal gang boxes and replace all of them at once.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors rstyszko Electrical 9 06-08-2012 03:17 PM
There is no two gang mud ring & wall plate for a CENTERED switch? miamicuse Electrical 4 06-07-2012 05:34 PM
Gang box falls through drywall hole because its too big. Jakobud Drywall & Plaster 7 04-12-2011 08:20 PM
wiring a single gang and 3 gang box from one source twinkietrucker Electrical 4 02-17-2010 07:01 AM
2 gang old box, made into 3 gang, off center?? fabian Electrical 9 01-15-2010 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.