2 Different Circuit's Receptacles In One Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2009, 08:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 321
Rewards Points: 254
Default

2 different circuit's receptacles in one box


I want to remove the existing single gang box and put in old work double gang box, can the second receptacle be from a different circuit? Do I have to label it or anything so the people who work on it knows they have to turn both breakers off?

Advertisement

DIYGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 08:20 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

2 different circuit's receptacles in one box


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYGST View Post
I want to remove the existing single gang box and put in old work double gang box, can the second receptacle be from a different circuit? Do I have to label it or anything so the people who work on it knows they have to turn both breakers off?

Yes and No.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

2 different circuit's receptacles in one box


When two power feeds are brought into the same box, their neutrals are connected to their respective loads including daisy chained continuations but are not connected to each other.

Grounds are all connected to each other.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 12:58 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

2 different circuit's receptacles in one box


If the neutrals are not connected, it should explain it all to the next person.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 07:00 PM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 11:49 AM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 02:21 PM
Moving from 12/2 to 14/2 bbarnhart Electrical 4 12-04-2005 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts