Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2007, 10:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 27
Share |
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


assuming I don't have too many wires in a switch box, can I have two different circuits entering and leaving the box without violating any codes? I'm new to this, and I thought I would ask before I wire a bunch of switch boxes this way.

bjherron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 08:22 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


Yes you can. Tie all the grounds together, but keep the neturals seperate for each circuit.

I just saw that you were going to wire a bunch of boxes this way. That could be a waste of wire and time.
I would consolidate circuits

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 09-26-2007 at 08:23 AM. Reason: More info
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 01:00 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


I will echo Jbfan's comment.,,

I do the same way it done that few time IMO it far much easier if you can get all in one circuit if possible if not just rember if on sepreaed circuit keep the netural seprated sometime it will be wise idea to mark down the wires what circuit it goes that will give them a hint or forewarn that is seprated circuit there.

this what i useally do if have seprted circuited not the MWBC type this way what i useally do is marked the netural with a marker or tape so i know not to tie to other netural so it dont affect the other circuit at all

Merci , Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 06:40 PM   #4
Lost in Space
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Garden City, NY
Posts: 27
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


If you havnt run the cable yet you can run a 3 wire cable and share the netural. Keep in mind the the breakers need to be next to each other so you can connect the switches together (via the holes on the breakers handles) as if one trips it is required (code) that they both trip.
Tool Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 06:59 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool Junkie View Post
If you havnt run the cable yet you can run a 3 wire cable and share the netural. Keep in mind the the breakers need to be next to each other so you can connect the switches together (via the holes on the breakers handles) as if one trips it is required (code) that they both trip.
Just so you can keep your facts straight, this is what I said in another post:

"The handle tie is only required if the two circuits share the same strap, i.e., the two receptacles of a duplex receptacle split between the two hots with the neutral common.

It should be noted that this handle tie is present so that the breakers can be turned off together, and can be achieved by using a double pole breaker or two single poles with an approved handle tie. If using two single pole breakers, they may not both trip in the event of a short circuit since there is not an internal trip mechanism present."
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool Junkie View Post
If you havnt run the cable yet you can run a 3 wire cable and share the netural. Keep in mind the the breakers need to be next to each other so you can connect the switches together (via the holes on the breakers handles) as if one trips it is required (code) that they both trip.
Interesting and very helpful info!
I have a situation where previous owner used 12/3 BX into an outlet box, then ran another circuit from there upstairs. Share same neutral, but the breakers, although next to each other are not bonded.
Makes lots of sense to have breakers trip together for safety, but as I understand, as long as the breakers are next to each other (on opposite sides of the 220V line) there is no problem sharing the neutral, as the net current in the neutral wire is (theoretically) the difference between the circuits, not the sum. Would be a problem if one of the breakers is GFCI though!!

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


Woops! Should have read all of the replies before posting. I didn't see the last one about the tie-bar required only if the 2 circuits are wired to same duplex receptacle.
So I guess mine is OK, as long as the two breakers are still next to each other.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:31 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

2 circuits, one swithbox


I think it is changing to be a requirement for ALL multi-wire circuits to have a handle tie in 2008. It is wise and a common practice to handle tie MWBC even when it is not code for safety. For that matter, I only put MWBC in commercial settings and never in houses...Safety first!

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12/3 Romex to Feed 2 Circuits? DaveHembree Electrical 22 09-28-2007 08:24 AM
How Many Circuit's Needed dcd22 Electrical 7 09-13-2007 06:46 PM
Power circuits under leaky bathtub? Beren Electrical 1 07-23-2007 09:02 AM
Number of circuits needed for a small kitchen? All responses welcome! alexz Electrical 5 04-07-2007 10:38 AM
One neutral for two circuits?? TronCarter Electrical 13 01-14-2007 08:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.