Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 10:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

2 bb heaters, 2 switches down to 1 switch


I have a strange setup where there are two baseboard heaters in a 16x25 room and there are two thermostats in the same room. I would like to reduce this to a single, programmable switch.
Everything runs on a single, 20 amp, 240 volt circuit. At 240 the heaters are rated at 1750watts each and are 6 foot long. The below (yeah, it's rough) diagram shows how it is currently wired.



BB1 and BB2 are the 6ft long baseboard heating elements.
W1 and W2 are wires that are snaked along in the baseboard upper hood.
T1 and T2 are manual, single pole thermostats.

I need to eliminate T2. I will replace with a 4000watt rated single pole (2 wire) thermostat. (single pole is acceptable under my local code)

I would like to do this without tearing up my walls/baseboards if possible.

Could I just snake a return wire through the baseboard in the same space as W1 that would split from the return feed from T1? If so, do I need to be careful of thermal rating on the wire or any such thing?

Any suggestions?

Jebross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:38 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

2 bb heaters, 2 switches down to 1 switch


Here is a new drawing with one stat. Remove T2 and connect the two wires together.

2 bb heaters, 2 switches down to 1 switch-baseboard.jpg

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Default

2 bb heaters, 2 switches down to 1 switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Remove T2 and connect the two wires together.
Unfortunately that does involved tearing the wall open - there is about a 6 foot gap between the 2 bb heaters. I've now removed a baseboard and made a small hole in the wallboard, between the two radiators, but no sign of this cable between the two of them.

It is an older house and I was hoping it might have been run along the foot plate beneath the baseboards as a retrofit, since I also would rather not start slicing open the vapour barrier on this outside wall.

The cable between the two bb heaters runs about 12 feet (somewhere in the wall, floor, who knows) from the right side of bb1 to the right side of bb2.
Jebross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

2 bb heaters, 2 switches down to 1 switch


The connection can probably made in the heater. Does it have a junction box built in for the other connection?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches, 2 lights Help please? fwurster Electrical 0 11-09-2012 08:10 AM
Analog multimeter shows voltage even with 3-way switch off OCPik4chu Electrical 17 09-25-2012 12:20 PM
two switch ceiling fan/ light question ifthenelsenull Electrical 4 12-29-2011 03:23 PM
3-way switches, lights, and a photoelectric switch. Your thoughts? Fox Electrical 7 11-23-2010 10:08 AM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.