Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2011, 01:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


OK, so here it goes. I am running a 100A sub-panel off of my 200A main panel. The Main panel is a Siemans and the sub is a homelite. My big question is how do I get the ground and neutral wires into the bars. They are too big to slide in and I don't feel comfortable with spreading the six wires across two positions. Is there a reducer that i should be using to make the install cleaner?? I am planning on having the work inspected and don't want to have a sloppy install job done. I am pretty comfortable working with electric, this is the first time I have worked with service wire and I am working in the dark. Thanks

njwoodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:04 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,378
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


The conductor cannot be split like you suspected. Here is one kit.

http://www.drillspot.com/products/49...AN_Neutral_Lug

Another larger one is the LK100AN.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
njwoodworker (07-24-2011)
Old 07-24-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Siemans parts: ECLK2 and ECCS 2.


Last edited by brric; 07-24-2011 at 02:17 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
njwoodworker (07-24-2011)
Old 07-24-2011, 02:25 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by njwoodworker View Post
OK, so here it goes. I am running a 100A sub-panel off of my 200A main panel. The Main panel is a Siemans and the sub is a homelite. My big question is how do I get the ground and neutral wires into the bars. They are too big to slide in and I don't feel comfortable with spreading the six wires across two positions. Is there a reducer that i should be using to make the install cleaner?? I am planning on having the work inspected and don't want to have a sloppy install job done. I am pretty comfortable working with electric, this is the first time I have worked with service wire and I am working in the dark. Thanks
I hope you are using 2-2-2-4 four conductor cable or three conductors in metalic conduit.

Last edited by brric; 07-24-2011 at 02:40 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


it is 2/2/2/4 but I used Sch 80 PVC. It is only three feet from the main box. The whole point was to consolidate all of my garage and outdoor circuits in my sub-panel. It just seemed smart. If I need to change it to galvanized then I will.
njwoodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:32 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by njwoodworker View Post
it is 2/2/2/4 but I used Sch 80 PVC. It is only three feet from the main box. The whole point was to consolidate all of my garage and outdoor circuits in my sub-panel. It just seemed smart. If I need to change it to galvanized then I will.
No need to change the setup if you have the cable.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
njwoodworker (07-24-2011)
Old 07-24-2011, 04:37 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Keep in mind that if you used #2 aluminum conductors, you can not use a 100 Amp breaker to feed your sub-panel. Table 310.16 of the Code allows 90 Amps on such a conductor, with 75 degree rating/terminations.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 05:05 PM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,605
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by njwoodworker View Post
it is 2/2/2/4 but I used Sch 80 PVC. It is only three feet from the main box. The whole point was to consolidate all of my garage and outdoor circuits in my sub-panel. It just seemed smart. If I need to change it to galvanized then I will.

Did you run individual conductors or SER cable through the conduit?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 05:55 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


I used a 60 amp breaker with the thought that I could go up to 90 if it was ever necessary. Thanks
njwoodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 06:15 PM   #10
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,605
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by njwoodworker View Post
I used a 60 amp breaker with the thought that I could go up to 90 if it was ever necessary. Thanks
You didn't answer my question. Just curious.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:39 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Sorry, I used SER.
njwoodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 01:00 AM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,605
Default

2/2/2 AL into 200A panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by njwoodworker
Sorry, I used SER.
In this installation #2SER is rated for 75amps max.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service move - old panel, separating neutral and ground WillK Electrical 3 06-17-2011 08:18 AM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
More Sub Panel Questions rdkng07 Electrical 6 05-25-2011 08:46 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
Getting a new 200A breaker panel Any brand better than other? GE? Siemens? twilightcall Electrical 4 01-22-2008 07:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.