Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2009, 09:33 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Hello;

I came across a small spool of 2/0 copper THHN tonight, at around .35 cent a foot. Per 310.60 this looks correct for 200A service. When I upgrade my service to 200A the run will be about 60' (from a fused dc outside at the meter to my main panel).

Do you think even with some voltage drop over that distance that I will be ok with the 2/0? I'd love to buy some of it at that price but don't want to waste the money if I should be using 3/0 to compensate for the distance.

Thanks
Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.

Last edited by jamiedolan; 01-09-2009 at 10:36 PM.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:49 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


That's really up to you. Some of the people can't tolerate their lights flickering when the A/C turns on and some people don't care.

Ohms/Ft: 0.000078, ohms for your run 0.00468. That's not bad.

Online calculator is saying 1% drop or 2.3 volts. Not bad at all.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:54 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
That's really up to you. Some of the people can't tolerate their lights flickering when the A/C turns on and some people don't care.

Ohms/Ft: 0.000078, ohms for your run 0.00468. That's not bad.
I won't be heavily loaded either. My average draw is very low, all major appliances are gas. I'm adding in the hot tub and an electric range insert, with everything running, including the new tub and oven, I might tip past 100a.

Sounds like I got myself a deal on some wire!

Thanks for your information.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:30 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


That is copper, right?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 10:36 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
That is copper, right?
Yes it is.


Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 01:38 AM   #6
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Are we looking at the same NEC? Mine says 2/0 CU THHN is only good for 195 amps...

Is your panel rated to terminate at 90*?
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:14 AM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by gp_wa View Post
Are we looking at the same NEC? Mine says 2/0 CU THHN is only good for 195 amps...

Is your panel rated to terminate at 90*?

Table 310.15(B)(6) would allow 2/0 cu for 200 amps.

Last edited by chris75; 01-10-2009 at 07:17 AM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 08:40 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


2/0 for sixty feet won't have a noticeable voltage drop, in most residential applications. Go for it.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:36 AM   #9
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Table 310.15(B)(6) would allow 2/0 cu for 200 amps.
Thanks Chris. Does that table still apply to the fed to inside panels, when you have a external disconnect that serves as your bonding point?

i.e. the outside disconnect would be the SE with grounds and neutrals bonded at that point. Then the feed I am discussing here would technically be a 4 wire sub panel feed.

I guess what I am asking is does 310.15(b)(6) only apply to the feeders used for unfused service i.e. between the meter / mast and the first fused disconnect?

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:38 AM   #10
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by gp_wa View Post
Are we looking at the same NEC? Mine says 2/0 CU THHN is only good for 195 amps...

Is your panel rated to terminate at 90*?
Actually I think some of the cutler CH stuff is rated at 90 degree. What table where you looking at? I was looking at 310.60 which shows 175 @ 75 degree. Protecting that with the next size breaker available would be 200A.

But I think I may have been looking at the wrong table as chris pointed out.

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 12:18 PM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Actually I think some of the cutler CH stuff is rated at 90 degree. What table where you looking at? I was looking at 310.60 which shows 175 @ 75 degree. Protecting that with the next size breaker available would be 200A.

But I think I may have been looking at the wrong table as chris pointed out.

Thanks
Jamie
Table 310.15(B)(6) applies to service entrance, lateral, or feeder conductors in a residence. So, you are good there. And the table you should be sizing general conductors to is 310.16, there is no table 310.60.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 01:46 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Actually I think some of the cutler CH stuff is rated at 90 degree. What table where you looking at? I was looking at 310.60 which shows 175 @ 75 degree. Protecting that with the next size breaker available would be 200A.

But I think I may have been looking at the wrong table as chris pointed out.

Thanks
Jamie

I've never seen a 90 degree lug. not saying they dont exist, just never have seen one before.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:45 PM   #13
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
I was looking at 310.60 which shows 175 @ 75 degree.
310.16. I actually assumed 310.60 was a typo. 310.16 says 175 @ 75* here, too.


My little book doesn't have 310.15(b)(6), and Google laughs at me whenever I put "NEC" in a search. All I get is discussion about the table. Anybody have a link to the actual table?
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:18 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


200 amp service, you need 3/0.
zeek88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:42 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

2/0 for 50-60' run to panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by zeek88 View Post
200 amp service, you need 3/0.
According to who?


Last edited by jerryh3; 01-10-2009 at 03:44 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.