1955 Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2011, 01:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 87
Default

1955 electrical


We are looking at a house to buy. And are wondering if we'd have to rewire all the electrical.What are the chances of a 1955 home having a ground wire on the electrical. All the outlets are two prong. Want to know if there is even a remote chance before bring the Realtor back out to pull off some plug outlets.

Thank you

Advertisement

debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:29 PM   #2
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

1955 electrical


More details---is the house piped in conduit?

Advertisement

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 87
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
More details---is the house piped in conduit?
None are visable.
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:36 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,791
Rewards Points: 2,256
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by debd View Post
All the outlets are two prong. Want to know if there is even a remote chance before bring the Realtor back out to pull off some plug outlets.
If it was convenient or practical to do so...
it's a safe bet that at sometime in the last 55 years someone would have.
Check anyway.
---

I recently bought a 1959 house with the old style no ground romex. My basement has full access to allow me to either change that wire (I won't)
or to add an extra receptacle (from a new grounded circuit) into each room for use by the rather few things that the ground will matter for.
When I remodel the kitchen and bathroom... those rooms will be fully rewired.

hth

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 12-30-2011 at 01:39 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:43 PM   #5
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

1955 electrical


I'd factor in the cost of an electrical up grade when making an offer on the house---Has the incoming service been upgraded to breakers yet?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 87
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I'd factor in the cost of an electrical up grade when making an offer on the house---Has the incoming service been upgraded to breakers yet?
no, and yes we are pricing what the upgrade would cost. the electrician said it'd be $1200 to $1800 to upgrade to an electrical box.
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:51 PM   #7
Limited Experience
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by debd View Post
What are the chances of a 1955 home having a ground wire on the electrical. All the outlets are two prong. Want to know if there is even a remote chance
Remote? Yes. But I'd want very long odds to take the bet. Very long. Say 50,000:1.

But instead of pulling off outlet covers see if the homeowner will take the cover off the panel for the house and let you take a picture or two. But likely you'll have to hire an electrician to do this on a house you don't own.
raleighthings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 01:55 PM   #8
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

1955 electrical


How about interior rewiring? That is mostly labor--if you do the work yourself--$--
If you hire the work out--$$$--

Do you have the luxury of getting the house in shape before you would move in?
It's a lot faster and easier on the family if the messy stuff can be done without people and furniture in the place.

Most of us ordinary folks don't have that option---Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 87
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
How about interior rewiring? That is mostly labor--if you do the work yourself--$--
If you hire the work out--$$$--

Do you have the luxury of getting the house in shape before you would move in?
It's a lot faster and easier on the family if the messy stuff can be done without people and furniture in the place.

Most of us ordinary folks don't have that option---Mike---
Yes, we'd do the work ourselves but thinking that it wouldn't be worth it... increase sellablity of house but not the value (this is an investment purchase)
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:27 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 87
Default

1955 electrical


"take the cover off the panel for the house "

Good point, thank you.
debd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 180
Default

1955 electrical


some insurance will not cover old houses if not rewired to be safe. If it is rewired totally you may have lower insurance rates also
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:47 PM   #12
Limited Experience
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

1955 electrical


If buying but with no plan to live there doing it yourself may not be an option
raleighthings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 03:20 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

1955 electrical


Why do you think you have to rewire the whole house because of ungrounded circuits, not a bad idea but not neccasary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I'd factor in the cost of an electrical up grade when making an offer on the house---Has the incoming service been upgraded to breakers yet?
I have a house built in 1956 with ungrounded plugs and if someone came in and asked for a price reduction based on the electrical, that offer would quickly end up in the garbage.

If you are worried about it, all it would take is a few GFI and some new grounded plugs and a couple of hours of trying to figure out where the start of the circuit is. $100 or so for material another $100-$200 for labour. Is this worth fighting for on a house that is in the 6 figures.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:03 PM   #14
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,791
Rewards Points: 2,256
Default

1955 electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Why do you think you have to rewire the whole house because of ungrounded circuits...
They didn't seem inclined to consider this when I mentioned it either back around post 3 either.

OP: at the panel look for what sort of wiring is attached to it.
If you're lucky... it will be BX (armored flexible metal).
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 04:45 PM   #15
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

1955 electrical


probably not they are using the BX run as a mechanical ground instead of a raw copper wire on the pull as and electrical ground...and you might even see cloth wiring within the BX.eye ball the pole feed into the house probably the same age....brin a meter along and test a plug if you pick up 115 to the plate screw the socket is grounded thru the BX..you pop the CB panel or screw in fuses you'll get an education

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 10:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 03:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Usefull Electrical Web Sites PaliBob Electrical 1 02-03-2009 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts