Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2011, 01:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


I just purchased a 1954 GE electric stove. It has a flourescent light and two 110,2-prong assessory outlets on top(just in case that needs to be known).

My home has the proper 4 wire outlet, but of course this old stove has only provisions for a 3 wire plug. I want to run by someone "in the know" what I have read online to be sure it's the proper way to update the stove to a 4 wire cord.

I've read that I should put the two hots (red and black) in their respective places on the stove's connection panel, the white neutral in the center.....and then I should disconnect the ground jumper-wire that runs from the stove's body to the neutral terminal and instead hook the green, ground wire on the plug directly to the stove's body.

It sounds logical to me....but I always edge on the side of caution, so I figured I would run this by you all to be sure. Thanks

semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 01:39 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Wow a push button stove
Any chance you could post a picture of the wiring terminal block?
Does this stove have a bonding jumper?


Last edited by a7ecorsair; 08-01-2011 at 02:11 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 04:59 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


You have it correct, semperfi. Post of pic of your work after you are done, before you replace the access panel.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
semperfi1977m (08-01-2011)
Old 08-01-2011, 05:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


thanks for the replies guys. Here's some pics of the terminal and the diagram on the back. Someone already had the ground strap unscrewed and bent back lol....its just below the neutral screw on the stove body (you can see it between the neutral and red wires of the cord in the pic I took)





semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


I have to still run into town later or tomorrow to get a new cord, but I will post pics when its in. Do you recommend that I find a new place to ground off of, or should connecting the green wire to the stove ground-strap suffice?
semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:11 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Remove that strap entirely, and attach the green wire to the frame where the strap used to be.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
semperfi1977m (08-01-2011)
Old 08-01-2011, 09:23 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Remove that strap entirely, and attach the green wire to the frame where the strap used to be.

Ok, sounds good! Thanks for your timeand your help kb
semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 10:51 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Thanks for the help guys :-). Shes properly wired and ready for years more service. I opened the back and looked around...and the wiring is in remarkable shape on this old stove. The clock still works even!


semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 11:13 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,363
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Looks like your electrical connections are correct.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:11 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Looks like your electrical connections are correct.
yeah...it wasnt difficult, (was much easier than rewiring my whole truck last summer haha) I just wanted to be sure I had the idea correct on how it should be grounded. Thanks again :-). As you can see in the "before" pic, someone had the ground strap disconnected and the wires were on the outside of the terminal instead of sandwiched inside lol. Never ceases to amaze me the stuff people do.....the truck I rewired was because someone else's butcher-job caused all the wiring under the dash and the fuse panel to melt.....all from a butched radio install. Also the gas guage would go to "full" instead of the taillamps lighting up when you pulled the light switch on haha....because of a butched trailer-plug install.
semperfi1977m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:50 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

1954 GE stove: 3 wire to 4


The only diffrernce between your stove and mine old stove I used have before is that the right front burner will have dual burner size plus it have thermosat to adjust the heat level { that was kinda pain in ase with it }

But for the left front it was large one as well that have dual burner size as well but no thermosat in there.

But good find with that stove.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Extending Range Of Stove Electrical - bad idea? sleepysmurf Electrical 33 08-10-2010 09:30 AM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
New stove switch doesn't have place for earth wire warrickvdb Electrical 1 05-08-2008 12:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.