Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Share |
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


I wired my whole house with 20 amp circuits. I was thinking of starting each receptacle circuit with a GFCI receptacle.

Will a 15amp GFCI be more likely to false trip than a 20amp?
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:35 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Both would trip at 4-6 mA.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Would there be any other advantage to using a 20amp GFCI? I have yet to see a 20amp plug.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 24,477
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Why would you do that? There only needed in the basement, garage, outside outlets and over the counter outlets.
The bedrooms need Arc fault breakers.
A GFI does not trip from to high an amperage draw.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Why would you want to feed every circuit in your house from a seperate gfi?
Theres already arcfault circuit breakers required in most areas of house (as certain people keep reminding me)
Then you have your tamper proof plugs that are required througout house.
Then you still need your tamper proof gfi's in the usual areas,not to mention your tamp proof weather resistant gfi's with in use covers required outside.
Other than wrapping yourself in bubble wrap and bonding yourself to the water service with a really long jumper wire just in case what else is there?
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,200
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Post your location in your profile.
If you are in Canada. It is required to use 20 amp T slot receptacles on 20 amp circuits.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:16 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
Other than wrapping yourself in bubble wrap and bonding yourself to the water service with a really long jumper wire just in case what else is there?
Now THIS is funny!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Code05 (01-29-2012)
Old 01-29-2012, 07:17 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvanbek View Post
I wired my whole house with 20 amp circuits. I was thinking of starting each receptacle circuit with a GFCI receptacle.

Will a 15amp GFCI be more likely to false trip than a 20amp?
I agree with the others. WHY GFIs everywhere???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:21 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Maybe to confuse the home inspectors?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Code05 (01-29-2012)
Old 01-29-2012, 07:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


I am in MN, the powers that be don't allow Canadians to post here do they?

A couple reasons, I have four outside receptacles on different circuits, and they need GFCI, so I might just as well put a GFCI on the first inside receptacle and protect them all. Right?

And my house might be a garage someday, my great room has two 10'x12' overhead doors.

And I think GFCIs work fairly well. But I am not a fan of Arc Fault.

Last edited by bkvanbek; 01-29-2012 at 07:38 PM.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:40 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


A fan of arc fault or not, they may be required by code in your area.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:35 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Oh ya, arc fault are required.

But it is like I told a guy from the International Code Council. Codes should be optional.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:38 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


Once the code is adopted by the local areas they carry the force of law by my understanding. Not much optional there.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:44 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Minnetrista, MN
Posts: 111
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


I know, the ICC guy laughed when I told him, that codes should be optional.
bkvanbek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:50 PM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,792
Default

15amp versus 20 amp GFCI


The problem is many inspectors in smaller towns ive come across wouldnt know a code if you beat them over the head with the book!
And dont get me started on home inspectors!
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you test a non GFCI plug with a GFCI tester? DIYguy2000 Electrical 3 01-16-2012 06:49 AM
GFCI troubleshooting XwpisONOMA Electrical 20 11-13-2011 05:19 PM
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 40 10-15-2010 10:38 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.