Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 06:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


I purchased a sears 60 gal compressor and wanted to verify that it is wired accurately. I have about a 12 ft. wire from the outlet to compressor.

It turns on but Im not sure that it is correct.






s2000CR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 06:54 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


Looks mostly good, but what's up with the tape and crimp connector (?) at the compressor end? Also technically that is an ungrounded receptacle, and the middle prong is neutral. But it goes to the same place in the panel that a grounding conductor would, and you do not have any line-to-neutral loads, so it is electrically identical to a properly grounded setup.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ohio
Posts: 1,093
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


correct me if i am wrong but the neutral and ground do not always go to the same place in a panel unless it is a bonded panel which all secondary panels all grounds and neutrals are isolated
__________________
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said me
"be careful at listening to just one persons advise" said myself
p.s. not all i say is a fact but not all i say is my opinion.
jaydevries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:10 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Looks mostly good, but what's up with the tape and crimp connector (?) at the compressor end? Also technically that is an ungrounded receptacle, and the middle prong is neutral. But it goes to the same place in the panel that a grounding conductor would, and you do not have any line-to-neutral loads, so it is electrically identical to a properly grounded setup.
The crimp connectors are fastend on the wire correctly, I just added black tape to be extra safe.
s2000CR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydevries View Post
correct me if i am wrong but the neutral and ground do not always go to the same place in a panel unless it is a bonded panel which all secondary panels all grounds and neutrals are isolated
I have no idea.

So is my green wire improper to its location?
s2000CR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:52 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

15amp compressor/ 30 amp outlet


Tye compressor is connected properly.

If there is only one panel, then the neutral and ground are the same busbar, and thus, the compressor is properly grounded. The only possible code issues are that the wire from the panel to the receptacle most likely has black, red and white. White is not legal for a ground. But I wouldn't worry about it, it's still a valid ground. Another nit-picky issue would be that the receptacle is rated for 125/250 volts, the nit-picky proper one would be 250 volts only.

I strongly suspect that there is only one panel, as it has been a code violation to use a 3 wire dryer receptacle on a sub panel for many years.

If it were my house, I would use it exactly as you have it connected.

Rob

P.S. The fact that a 15 amp motor is connected to a 30 amp circuit is of no issue. It's actually code compliant.

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 08:06 AM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 04:14 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 04:20 PM
Can I use a 20amp outlet receptical on a 15amp circuit? abefroman Electrical 17 01-18-2009 09:57 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.