Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2011, 07:35 PM   #1
Don't WANNA do it myself
 
mnp13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY Area
Posts: 475
Share |
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


I have brand new 14/2 wire run through the walls.

I'm replacing all of the 15 amp breakers.

I have new 15A receptacles for all of the rooms. How many recepticales can I attach to each breaker?

One of the breakers runs 14 overhead lights, that can not be changed. I have four more breakers to share all of the outlets and 10 lights. I'd like to leave one of the breakers empty for the eventual bathroom remodel.

Yes, I can just divide them evenly, but what is the max safe load?

mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:38 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


A receptacle itself adds no load to the circuit. The load is determined by what is plugged into the receptacles. There is no limit to the number of receptacles in a residence under the NEC.

A good design will plan for the expected loads.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 07:43 PM   #3
Don't WANNA do it myself
 
mnp13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY Area
Posts: 475
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


They are all bedrooms. I don't see more than lights, alarm clocks, and fans. Occasionally a vacuum or a power tool.

But I see your point... I'll just divide them up equally.
mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:09 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


circuits should be split up by rooms or sections of the house or whatever. Number of receptacles has nothing to do with it. (in residential applications)
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


In a bedroom used just as a bedroom (for an adult as opposed to teenager), one 15 amp breaker would typically be fine for the whole room...

But you might have lots of things to plug in and more outlets would be a nice feature. And specifically on either side of the bed. Lamp, alarm clock, cell phone charger, whatever.... Yet there may only be one outlet BEHIND the center of the bed!

A better design might be to place a duplex outlet (4 total outlets) on the left side of the bed and another duplex outlet (4 total outlets) on the right side of the bed! Then plenty of outlets to plug all those things into.

Then when it is time to vacuum the bedroom, where is an outlet? They are all behind something! A better design might be to install an additional outlet near the door just for the vacuum.

Think ahead about these things and it can make life a little less frustrating!

As for the teenager's bedroom, let's see... 2 zillion watt stereo, microwave, TV, computer...
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


11 receptacles
longspur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:05 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


Quote:
Originally Posted by longspur View Post
11 receptacles
How did you come up with this number?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:34 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 17
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mnp13 View Post
I'd like to leave one of the breakers empty for the eventual bathroom remodel.
Not sure what your plans are for the bathroom remodel but you have to use 20 amp 12/2 for bathroom recepticles. Just something to keep in mind.
brucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:13 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,732
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


Billy Bob, what kid has a microwave or large sound system in their room? Only place I can think of, would be a dorm room. Then it would be better to just wire every room as 20 amp circuits.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:45 PM   #10
Don't WANNA do it myself
 
mnp13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY Area
Posts: 475
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brucelee View Post
Not sure what your plans are for the bathroom remodel but you have to use 20 amp 12/2 for bathroom recepticles. Just something to keep in mind.
Yup.

I have double 40's running the upstairs panel. That panel currently has five 15 amp breakers on it - three on one side, two on the other. I'd like to leave one blank, swap it out for a 20, and run the bathroom off of that. The bathroom fan will actually be powered from the downstairs (one fan for both bathrooms in the house, we shall leave that alone for now...), and the light can go on any of the other ones.
mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 03:47 PM   #11
Don't WANNA do it myself
 
mnp13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rochester, NY Area
Posts: 475
Default

15amp breakers, 14/2 wire, how many recepticals?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Billy Bob, what kid has a microwave or large sound system in their room? Only place I can think of, would be a dorm room. Then it would be better to just wire every room as 20 amp circuits.
We have already run about two dozen 14/2 wires. I'll end up divorced if I change my mind at this point!

mnp13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
14/2 NM wire problems tpagel Electrical 8 06-05-2011 09:58 AM
Wire Choice 12/2 or 14/2 Pentium Electrical 13 05-05-2011 03:33 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Dimmer switch with Hot & Neutral wire ? Knucklez Electrical 3 12-28-2010 04:24 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.