Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 08:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 253
Share |
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


Why can houses be wired with 15 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuits? Is it because it is assumed that a 20 amp device won't be used on a single outlet? Are 20 amp receptacles on used in a commercial setting?

bluefitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:17 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


Its more so about cost. The insides of a 15 amp and a 20 amp receptical are the same.

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


The 15a has to be a duplex receptacle
A single 15a receptacle can't be installed on a 20a circuit (my understanding)
They are rated for 20a pass thru

Any device that needs 20a has a special slotted plug & requires a true 20a slotted receptacle. I have yet to buy any power tool that needs 20a or has a slotted plug
It doesn't have to be red or have the LED

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:18 PM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


Yes you can install a 15 amp single receptacle on a 20 amp circuit
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Yes you can install a 15 amp single receptacle on a 20 amp circuit
NEC 210.21 (B) A single receptacle installed on an indivudal branch circuit shall have an ampere rating not less then that of the branch circuit

Single receptacle:

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:29 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

15amp and 20amp receptacles


Don't forget, a duplex receptacle is two receptacles.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this correct regarding 20amp circuit and 15amp receptacles diymonkey Electrical 17 07-26-2009 06:57 PM
Can I use a 20amp outlet receptical on a 15amp circuit? abefroman Electrical 17 01-18-2009 09:57 PM
Question: Is using 12/2 wire, ok on 15amp breaker/outlets? ehoez Electrical 3 07-14-2008 07:41 AM
15AMP vs 20AMP for Office? mfleming Electrical 11 04-25-2008 08:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.