Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 03:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

15a outlet vs 20a outlet


What happens if I have a 20amp breaker, #12 wire and a 15amp outlet and the appliances plugged into the outlet drawings more than 15amps?

timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

15a outlet vs 20a outlet


When the current gets significantly over 20 the breaker will trip.

Do not believe the old wives tale that the receptacle will burn up if it sees over 15A. A 15A receptacle IS rated for 20A feed-through.

Don't forget, a 15A duplex is TWO 15A receptacles, not one.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 04:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15a outlet vs 20a outlet


thanks. I just upgraded the wiring in the crawl space to # 12 and upgraded the breaker to 20amp and didn't know if I had to change out the outlet also.
timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 05:45 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15a outlet vs 20a outlet


Also, if an appliance has a 15 A plug and it pulls more than 15 A, then it is malfunctioning.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 08:16 AM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15a outlet vs 20a outlet


If you happen to be in Canada, according to code that plug should be a t-slot plug. The chances of haveing a problem with the regular plug are very slim.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.