Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 12:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 650
Share |
Default

15A breaker overload?


Hi All,

I have a single 15A breaker that splits to:
  • Bedroom 1 (Light and outlets)
  • Bedroom 2 (Light and outlets)
  • Full Bathroom (Light, outlet, fan)
  • 2 hallway lights.
It has never tripped since I've been here, but then again, one of the bedrooms is never used.

Should I try to get a dedicated 20A up to the bathroom?

Attached is my entire panel.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Electric Panel.pdf (39.2 KB, 54 views)

__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Bathroom demo started Feb 2013:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

15A breaker overload?


I would do it. That's a lot on 15A, and recent NEC code books demand a separate circuit for the bathroom for a reason. You must not have any female using hair dryers, or you would have flipped the breaker many times already.

operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 650
Default

15A breaker overload?


The hair dryer gets used on the Master Bed, Bath breaker. This one does trip on occasion... Maybe I'll try to run 2 separate 20A's up to that floor.

Any pointers when doing this? Is is normal to follow a vent pipe down to the basement?
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Bathroom demo started Feb 2013:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

15A breaker overload?


Run a dedicated 20A circuit to both bathroom receptacles. Leave everything else alone.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
brric (12-31-2012), micromind (12-31-2012), NJMarine (12-31-2012)
Old 01-01-2013, 02:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Default

15A breaker overload?


Run one to the basement bath also- 20 amp, if you plan to install it later.(didnt see breaker for it)
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well pump trips breaker at start, but then starts when breaker reset J. David Electrical 34 02-25-2012 11:23 AM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 10:28 AM
AFCI Breaker Keeps Tripping Muinchja Electrical 30 08-25-2011 04:54 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.