15A & 20A Outlets On 20A Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2007, 02:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


I have a 20A breaker with 12AWG wire circuit in which I want to replace an outlet. I bought a 20A outlet and noticed when removing the old outlet that the old outlet was 15A. Can I replace this 15A outlet with a 20A outlet? Doing so will mean that I have both 15A and 20A outlets on the same circuit. Also, this outlet will be used for a new 50" LCD TV I recently bought. Is it okay to plug a LCD TV into a 20A outlet or is 15A preferred.

Thanks

Advertisement

DIYScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 03:04 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


it depends on how big the circuit is. Is the TV just about the only thing on this circuit. If the usage is within ratings, i belive 1440w (safe range) for 15amp even though it can go 1800 i believe. You could just put a 15amp breaker in. I will leave this to the experts as i think you could use 15 -20amps outlets. not sure though

Advertisement

matrix733 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 03:08 PM   #3
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Rewards Points: 250
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


Do not change the breaker to a 15A. The 20Amp outlet will work fine as is.
__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 03:33 PM   #4
Electrician Apprentice
 
puma1277's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


I believe the only time you need a 20A outlet receptacle is when it's a single dedicated outlet on 12/2 with a 20A breaker.

The 20A outlet will work just fine.

Last edited by puma1277; 11-28-2007 at 03:40 PM.
puma1277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:05 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


You may install 15 or 20 amp receptacles on 20 amp branch circuits protected by 20 amp breakers and 12 awg copper wire.

You cannot place 20 amp receptacles on 15 amp circuits.

The 20 amp receptacle is fine but you generally never use the "T" slot configuration for general use. Some excercise equipment and heaters use it and a few others like window a/c etc...
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 04:55 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


I have installed some 20amp duplex receptacles in my house and garage to differentiate the 20amp circuit from the 15amp circuit. Most of the duplex receptacles in my house are on 15amp circuits.
sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 06:28 AM   #7
waiting for spring
 
arichard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


all 15 amp receptacles are rated for 20 amp pass through.
arichard21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


You can put a 20 amp recept on a 15 amp circuit. It's just protected at 15 amps.
And the best way to tell the difference between 15 and 20 amp recepts. Go and buy one of each.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:51 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

15A & 20A outlets on 20A circuit


J.V. that has been a code violation for many many years. The 20 amp receptacle (5-20r) allows you to overload a 15 amp circuit with one cord and plug appliance. The NEC has taken great care to make it clear that they do not want this situation on a branch circuit in the several relative sections of article 210.

Advertisement

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 03:41 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM
? on 20A circuit / outlets / #of remhed Electrical 2 05-15-2005 09:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts