Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


I want to use a 1500 watt space heater in the basement, but I'm worrried about my electical circuit breakers handling it. I have a separate panel in the basement. I have sterero/TV hooked up and a fridge and bunch of lights. What do I need to look at on my panel to see if I should buy this heater?

Thanks

it99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:14 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Is the circuit it will be plugged into 15A or 20A? If it's 15A, there can't be much else on it at all. Maybe just a few lights. If it's 20A, you can have up to 7A (840W) of other stuff on it, though less would be better. Ideally you'd plug it into a different circuit from everything else but that's not usually an option.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 12:15 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


You could install a receptacle on a new circuit just for this heater.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 08:08 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


The only thing my circuit breaker box has written on it is 10kw service and a 5kw service. I assume my basement has two circuits. Otherwise its just the schematic I'd have to read but that pretty small and its not light enough to read. I tried plugging in the heater to a power strip that had some lights also plugged in. Eventually it blew out the power strip, but not circuit breakers got tripped. I was going to replace the power stip. Is there a good kind to get that has a buit in circuit breaker? Or should I just try to plug in separetly from lights.
it99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 08:17 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Do not plug a 1500 watt heater into a power strip. 95% chance it isn't rated for that much current.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-21-2011)
Old 10-21-2011, 08:55 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


I'm a little nervous about plugging in my heater directly into outlet and frying outlet. Should the 10kw and 5 kw on my panel be enough?
it99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 09:03 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,155
Rewards Points: 64
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Do not know the size of the basement, but a 1500 watt space heater is not going to do anything. We ran one in our basement, which is 821 only when my son would be down there playing video games, and it did nothing. Better to figure out how to warm it up by insulating the walls and pumping heat down there with the current hvac system.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:20 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Quote:
Originally Posted by it99 View Post
I'm a little nervous about plugging in my heater directly into outlet and frying outlet. Should the 10kw and 5 kw on my panel be enough?
10KW and 5KW are meaningless numbers to us.
We need a picture of the panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:21 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Me too with those numbers. I will take a picture of the panel tonight.
thanks!
it99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:49 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


On the handles of the breakers in the panel, the single breakers will mostly all have 15 written on them or mostly all have 20 written on them.

That is the "amps" of outlet circuits and others. Ignore the "double" breakers.

So are they all mostly 15 or all mostly 20?

If you are lucky, there will be notes on the door for what breaker goes to what.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:57 AM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,155
Rewards Points: 64
Default

1500 watt space heater in basemnet


Depending on the age of the home, most likely it could be 15 amp circuits. Could also be Knob & tube or aluminum wiring.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
I would like to relocate the flue for my gas water heater Git HVAC 12 04-23-2008 09:37 PM
Crawl Space In Basement -- Please Help thekid Building & Construction 7 01-04-2008 08:15 PM
How to Space Water Heater Flue Vent from Outside Wall? austinbirdman Plumbing 1 03-12-2007 10:28 AM
Space Heater And K-1 Kerosene bobo General DIY Discussions 7 10-25-2006 10:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.