Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 02:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

15 amp gfi question


Can I use a 15 amp gfi outlet in my bathroom? It will be hooked up with
14/2 wire. I understand it is not great for handling hair dryers etc. But it will
Be on our basement and this plug will never even get used. Not sure if that is
Against code in Ontario?
Thanks in advance.

jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 02:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 454
Default

15 amp gfi question


I don't know what Canadian code calls for, but US code now is dedicated 20a circuit to bathroom GFCI.

IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

15 amp gfi question


Not sure if it makes a difference or not but it will be a powder room
No tub or shower. Just sink and toilet.
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 06:42 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,388
Default

15 amp gfi question


15 amp GFCI is fine in the bathroom. Does not need to be a dedicated circuit like in the USA.
From ESASAFE site

Quote:
Question
Is a separate circuit required to supply a receptacle in a bathroom?
Answer

The code does not require a separate circuit for bathroom receptacles. Bathroom receptacles can be supplied by a general purpose circuit that supplies other general purpose receptacle and lighting outlets. Multiple bath and washrooms are permitted to be supplied by the same circuit. Rule 8-304.

In bathrooms where heavy loads such as hair dryers may be used it is recommended not to combine multiple bathrooms on the same circuit.

Ontario Electrical Safety Code 25th Edition/2012
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
jamestown55 (01-30-2014)
Old 01-30-2014, 06:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

15 amp gfi question


Thanks, can I run my light off that same circuit or will that be too much?
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

15 amp gfi question


Sorry, I only saw part of your post as I am on my phone...guess that answers my
Question.
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:30 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,388
Default

15 amp gfi question


Circuits are limited to 12 outlets. As long as you stay below that you are fine. Outlets are defined as receptacles, lights, fans, or any other device that uses power.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:11 AM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,720
Default

15 amp gfi question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Circuits are limited to 12 outlets. As long as you stay below that you are fine. Outlets are defined as receptacles, lights, fans, or any other device that uses power.
So weird... because we all know once we install 13 devices, that circuit trips... and it's not the fact that we have a heavy wattage appliance in use that should have a dedicated circuit....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (01-31-2014)
Old 01-31-2014, 11:13 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 454
Default

15 amp gfi question


I've never seen a hair dryer that would blow a 15a circuit on it's own, but know that they are sold up to 1500 watts, and that any signifigant load shared on your bathroom circuit will probably trip it. It's best to have a 20a circuit for that receptacle, or at least a dedicated 15a, separate from the lights.
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 03:08 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 289
Default

15 amp gfi question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamestown55 View Post
it will be on our basement and this plug will never even get used.
If you're not going to use it, why install it at all? Is there a requirement for receptacles in powder rooms?

Keep in mind, when I bought a house a few years ago, it had a powder room with no receptacle. I though this was silly, so I had our electrician install one.


Last edited by JKeefe; 01-31-2014 at 03:10 PM.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.