Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2008, 03:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default

15 amp gfci outlet on a 20 amp circuit?


I'm replacing the gfci outlets in my kitchen and I purchased 15 amp gfci outlets, but I just realized this is a 20 amp circuit. Is it OK to use these outlets, or do I need to have gfci outlets rated for 20 amps? Thanks.

Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 03:22 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

15 amp gfci outlet on a 20 amp circuit?


It is ok to use the 15 amps gfci receptacles.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 04:58 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

15 amp gfci outlet on a 20 amp circuit?


If you are in Canada you will have to get 20A GFI.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 07:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

15 amp gfci outlet on a 20 amp circuit?


The only time you need a 20 amp outlet (in the NEC) is when you have only one plug on the entire circuit. Do not get confused with a duplex receptacle, there are two plugs on those, hence the "duplex".
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
20A GFCI on 15A circuit jheavner Electrical 35 10-16-2008 03:45 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 02:41 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.