Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2007, 03:12 PM   #1
Do, undo, then do right
 
BilHam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Suburban NYC
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


My client is getting a Miele washer and dryer. They're 220v, with the big 4 prong plug, and they say you can use your old 30 amp line to feed them both, and run them both at the same time.
The old dryer was hard wired with 10/3 Bx from the double 30 breaker in a subpanel. I'm installing two big receptacles for the two units, but I have to put in a 4X4 junction box and feed off that.
My question is: can I just use 12/3 Romex to each receptacle, since the appliances are only 15 amps, or do I have to use 10/3? Using Romex is to code here, but the receptacles are capable of handling much more. Since the 12/3 would run separately from the junction box, it should handle the load of 15 amps, right?
I want to do this all to code; a short hank of 10/3 would do it, and I'm prepared to dumpster dive if I have to. But I have the 12/3 on hand.
Thanks.
BilHam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 03:59 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


Use 10-3.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


You say your client as if this is a job you are being paid for.

You cannot do electrical work for money legaly. Since you obviously do not even know the basics in the code, you have no business acting like an electrical contractor.

You should leave the electrical contracting to the licenced electricians.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:45 AM   #4
Do, undo, then do right
 
BilHam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Suburban NYC
Posts: 23
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


My "client" is my sister, who lives in the family house 2 miles away. She has MS and cares for our 80 year old mom with AD. I'm helping her out and saving her money, doing the work during the hours I'm on duty there.
I legally rewired my last house from the panel up, with drawings, permits and inspections, so I had to learn a few of the code "basics".
BilHam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


The facts that your sister and mom are both not well and living in the home, and that you do not know the basics are just proof that I am right and you should hire a pro.

Why do you want to risk thier safety. Do you think saving a few dollars now is worth any of thier lives?

dude, if you have no idea what size wire goes to what size breaker, or if you can use a smaller size breaker just because you install a j box, then you have no business risking someone elses safety.

You are not doing anyone any favors by MISWIRING thier home.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:02 PM   #6
Do, undo, then do right
 
BilHam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Suburban NYC
Posts: 23
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


j.--
I wired the two receptacles with 10/3 Romex. I'll be there when the appliances arrive. I'll run the first two loads of laundry Friday. I'll be sleeping there on duty with my mom. If the smoke alarm goes off I'll think of you.
BilHam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 09:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

15 amp 220 washer/dryer hookup


But he's on here asking about the right way to do things, isn't he?
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air handler hookup DIYtilIdie Electrical 1 07-04-2007 06:10 PM
How to handle circuit for washer/dryer relocation? KUIPORNG Electrical 9 06-16-2006 09:09 AM
relocate washer/dryer krtw Remodeling 2 01-15-2006 02:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.