15 Amp Or 20 Amp? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 08:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 77
Default

15 amp or 20 amp?


Simple question.
I'm building a new PC with a 1250 watt power supply.
On the same line, a flat screen monitor, printer/scanner/fax (one machine), and a couple of small speakers.

Can I plug all of this into a standard 15 amp outlet, or do I need a 20 amp one?

Thanks.

Advertisement

wengang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:01 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

15 amp or 20 amp?


The proper question to ask would be if a 15 amp circuit can supply all that equipment without tripping.

None of the cords will have a 20 amp end on it so a 15 amp conficuration is all you need. Circuit capacity is a different matter.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 09:36 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

15 amp or 20 amp?


You would have no problem with a 15amp circuit, since the Surge protector is only rate at 15 amps, it would trip regardless if on a 20 or 15 amp circuit, when it overloads.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts