Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 08:52 PM   #16
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
2 15 A circuits
Tamper Resistant Receptacles
AFCI breakers
Smoke/CO Detector

As for the electric fireplace, its either going to be just fine on a 15 A circuit, or its going to have a heating element and require its own circuit. If you know where the fireplace is going to sit, run a dedicated 20A circuit to that spot. If you don't know where it is going to sit, run it when you get it.

K_Buz: I agree...

JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:58 PM   #17
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Depending on the area he chooses to run the circuit for the fireplace, he needs to consider any possible tight spots, as in corners.. or areas that could cause complications when running that circuit when he's ready to proceed forward when you begins that phase.. as we're talking about all walls possibly being closed.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 11:01 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Ever since tripping a 15A circuit breaker while using a vacuum cleaner on a circuit that already had some load on it, I will personally always use 20 amp circuits for receptacles. I think most vacuums, even modern day ones, draw 12 to 13 amps. This does not leave much room for other existing loads to be on the circuit before tripping a breaker. While breakers operate on time-current curves and as such will tolerate an overcurrent situation for a short period of time (depending on how much overload, etc), I look at the fact if you have a plasma TV (2 amps), a AV receiver of some type (1-2 amps), a dvr (~.3 amps), and maybe a lamp, or the AC adapter of a laptop computer adding an additional amp of power to the load and then connect someone decides to vacuum, you are going to be overloading a 15 amp circuit.

That is just my personal opinion...most people probably do not leave their TV on or have their computer open when vacuuming maybe :-).
dcapone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:34 AM   #19
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


And that is exactly what I was getting at before... I want to be able to have those things going and not trip a breaker, especially because this will eventually be a rental and I don't know how the hell this space will be used... There is a $25 increase between 14-2 and 12-2 and about $30 increase in 15a vs 20a recepts...

But I have experienced electricians on here saying to just use 2 15a circuits, someone else saying 2 20a circuits, etc
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:55 AM   #20
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucon01 View Post
Here we go....

I'm not worried about the cost at this point. I want the best setup possible since everything is open. I want to do it right and have a tendency to over do things anyway. Eventually, I am going to keep this property as an investment house within the next 5 years or so, if that makes a difference.
Since everything is open now and it sounds like you don't want to have to do this again...

My personal opinion would be to run 2 20A circuits with 15 amp tamper proof receptacles.

Put them on afci breakers.

It's cheap insurance for future unknown usage. Might be overkill for now but...

How many square feet are we talking and will it be just one big room, or several? Will there be a bathroom?
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:12 AM   #21
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


This is a prelim sketch I made up quickly. This is not to scale so the recepts are not as close as they appear

Feel free to give me feed back!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:14 AM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


20 amp receptacles are not required with a 20 amp circuit.

I run 20 amp circuits because when I started my area did not allow 14 gauge wire to be used, so it became a habit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:26 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


A couple things and much more knowledgeable people can correct me if I am wrong (or you can depending how bad the scale is)...

1. You will most likely need a receptacle to the "left" of the bathroom door in the open area which I do not think would count as a hallway but rather part of the larger recreational room. It appears to be longer than 2 ft and as such, the wall space would require an outlet to be within 6 ft at all points.

2. Same for wall on left at bottom of stairs. Outlet for 1 could be positioned to satisfy the need of 6' to a receptacle for both sections of wall, but this depends on the actual sizes since the diagram is not to scale.

3. Same for the long wall of the utility closet. You may be able to shift the location of the outlet you have on the "stub" wall to satisfy the 6' rule here, again depending on actual size / scale.

4. As a general comment, depending on how your other bathrooms are already wired, it may be easier to wire the bathroom receptacles onto the same GFCI circuit as one of the other bathrooms and tie the bathroom lights onto the same circuit as the rest of the lighting. This can be done if one of the other bathroom circuits is ONLY serving receptacles in the bathroom and not any additional loads within the bathroom.
dcapone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:47 AM   #24
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Right now, I'm working on the room with the 1 and 5 circuit. None of the other areas are even framed yet. That was all hypothetical. I'll def keep all that stuff in mind though. Thanks for such a detailed response!!
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:11 AM   #25
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


That looks fine to me. I agree with what dcapone said.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:06 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Since it will be investment property down the road and others may be there later id stick w 12/2 .20 amp wire on both lines(1 seprate to fireplace) and 15 on outlets. many dont realize the overload till the multiple electronics/vac ,etc is poping the breaker(especially renters on a 15 amp)..
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:08 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 276
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Since it will be investment property down the road and others may be there later id stick w 12/2 .20 amp wire on both lines w afci(1 seprate to fireplace) and 15 on outlets. many dont realize the overload till the multiple electronics/vac ,etc is tripping the breaker(especially renters on a 15 amp)..
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:13 PM   #28
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trucon01 View Post
And that is exactly what I was getting at before... I want to be able to have those things going and not trip a breaker, especially because this will eventually be a rental and I don't know how the hell this space will be used... There is a $25 increase between 14-2 and 12-2 and about $30 increase in 15a vs 20a recepts...

But I have experienced electricians on here saying to just use 2 15a circuits, someone else saying 2 20a circuits, etc
Since I'm the "someone else" I'll pile on You can't go wrong with 20 amp circuits. The point of 15 or 20A circuits will always be argued (as you've seen) but if the small price increase isn't a dealbreaker, then there's really no debate; a 20A circuit is cheap insurance (as they say.) In your case I'd run 2 20A for the living space; of course the bathroom needs it's own circuit.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 08:26 PM   #29
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


Debate over... 2 20amp circuits!

Thanks everyone!!!
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Trucon01 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-29-2012), TTW (11-29-2012)
Old 11-29-2012, 09:52 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 0
Default

15 or 20amp for basement finishing


run the 12/2 and just use 15amp breaker untill you need the 15amp

redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
finishing a basement? what, me worry? itsnotrequired Project Showcase 36 09-18-2012 06:00 PM
Downgrage 20amp to 15amp yonkoc Electrical 26 04-05-2012 08:56 PM
Question about 20amp outlet for my refrigerator Penguinfan Electrical 6 04-04-2012 07:36 AM
Normal level of finishing new drywall? MikeKy55 Drywall & Plaster 23 05-21-2011 03:42 PM
Finishing basment...light questions and more. Abs777 Electrical 10 02-19-2010 10:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.