14ga Power Cord On Ac. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2007, 05:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Question

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


hello,

i recently replaced the fan blade on a sears kenmore 12,500 btu window ac. while i had it apart, i read the specs tag, on the inside of the ac. it runs at 1320 watts, 11amps,120vac. the power cord is only 14ga wire. isnt this pushing it to the limit? even if you run the unit on a dedicated circuit, like you should, its drawing 11 amps! and as far as i know, any breaker should only be run at %80 of its capacity. so for a 15amp breaker, that would be 12 amps, correct? and the ac unit is running at 11amps! not much of a margin.... what do u'all think???...bob

Advertisement

bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 05:37 PM   #2
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


The 11 amps is based on start up , not continous running amps.

Advertisement

troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 06:23 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


You are getting confused the 80% refers to the circuit breaker not the wire. Your 14 gage wire is fine for 11A it could be running 14A and you are still fine.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


The 80% rule refers to the conductor(s), not the protective device. In this case a breaker.
The 80% is in effect when the device being served is considered to be CONTINUOUS, which is 2 hours or more.

The protective device, the breaker, can carry full rated load.
EX: a # 12 conductor with a load of 14.9999a is fine on a 15a breaker. Not a good way to go, but within code.

In your situation, your stated parameters are OK for the #14 wire.

PS ... the actual motor start-up current is probably in the range of 5X the running current (50a or so), but for only a few cycles, so the breaker does not see it as true load current, and does not "trip".

Last edited by JGarth; 09-03-2007 at 06:37 PM.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 08:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 75
Thumbs up

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


thanks all,

i thought about it, and thought maybe it was just a startup peak. i remember many years ago, when i was a kid. my dad bought a window ac, and he was pissed cause it kept blowing 15a fuses. then an electrician buddy of his told him to put in 15a slow blow! all makes sense now! thanks!..bob
bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:07 AM   #6
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


Quote:
Originally Posted by troubleseeker View Post
The 11 amps is based on start up , not continous running amps.
Sorry but this is the continuous current drawn by the machine.

1320 Watts divided by 120 volts = 11 Amps.

The starting current would be between 4 to 8 times this value i.e. 44 - 88 Amps.
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 07:35 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

14ga Power Cord On Ac.


It's below the 80%. No problem there. It doesn't matter that it is getting close. The 80% is to keep you from too close to the 15amp rating. Even a little over to the 80% is still OK for the circuit.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
repair power cord on dishwasher MattCoops Appliances 8 03-05-2012 04:36 PM
extension cord draining power? mt232 Electrical 14 05-25-2011 04:37 PM
Ac needs to power cord Buttons50 Electrical 5 07-13-2008 10:58 AM
Wall AC power cord options J187 Electrical 2 04-13-2007 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts