Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 08:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

14g Wire on 20 amp circuit


I am installing motion light outside my garage this weekend. When I went to check the current wiring out in the garage, I noticed that the individual who I bought the house from had the garage door opener running from a receptacle w/14g wire...this is on a 20 amp circuit. I am about a year into my first house and slowly becoming a DIYer...but this just doesn't seem right. Is it safe to assume that I should change that 14g wire to 12g? The only pieces drawing power from this circuit currently are the garage door opener and a light.

dukes32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:41 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

14g Wire on 20 amp circuit


Yes it should be changed or breaker changed to 15.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

14g Wire on 20 amp circuit


if the recp where the power comes from to lite and door opener is #12,cahnge the 14ga to #12 if you can.other wise you will need a 15 amp breaker on that ckt.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13
Default

14g Wire on 20 amp circuit


Change breaker to 15A
Rob's Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to change a single 240 volt circuit with only one outlet, to a 120 volt circuit with a standard 120 volt outlet. covenant Electrical 7 11-09-2010 06:07 PM
Burned wire coming from circuit breaker rdmirando Electrical 5 11-01-2010 05:32 PM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.