14g Protection On 20a Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 12:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


OK, so long story short, I ran a 12-2 from an (as yet) unused 20a breaker in my panel to a new shed. (Through the attic and then down the side of the house in sch40pvc to a nice little metal box mounted on the exterior of the house that came preinstalled with a 20a gfci outlet and a 20a switch) I want to run 12g to 20a outlets for my tools and stuff. But... on advice from a neighbor who is a GC I wired overhead lights with 14 g including 14-3 to two 3way switches. While I know the lights won't draw much amperage, in the case of a short or partial short, the 14g wire won't be protected by the 20a breaker in the panel, right? It also won't really be protected by the gfci, right? So... rather than rewiring the lighting... (finally the question)...

Can I install a 15a breaker/fuse at the junction between the 12g and the 14g to the lights?

A fuse would be fine with me because this is very unlikely to ever short/blow. The lights are flourescent so no one will come along one day and screw a little outlet adapter in the plug.

I think my approach is safe and sound, but maybe still not legal/code. Thoughts?

Advertisement

adborowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,014
Rewards Points: 2,826
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


Once you added the 14 ga. wire to the circuit it now means you need to reduce the breaker to a 15 amp.


GFI's do nothing to protect from overload.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 02:11 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


the problem with putting smaller gauge wire on a over current protection device than rated for is that the wire will heat up to unacceptable temps before the OCPD would get upset.

So lets say I put 14ga wire on a 20a breaker(we know 14ga is only good for 15a by code) It is possible and all together to likely that the wire would heat up to burn nearby objects before the breaker would trip.

If there is installed 14ga wire in a given location you have two choices, one install a 15a breaker or to replace the wire with 12ga wire.

It is not practical to install a OPCD at a remote location. I recommend that you down size the breaker to 15a
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:06 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


YOu can't just install a breaker in a junction box. You would need to install a proper sub panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


Thanks Cowboy, I get the concept. I disagree that it is 'likely' however, given the current draw of two flourescent light fixtures. The fixtures themselves have wimpy wire connectors (much smaller than the 14g).
So...joed...
Is it OK to make a subpanel off of a 20a 12g run to the main panel? What if I wire the lights and switches to a lamp cord and "plug it in" to a 20a recepticle?

Looks like I'm rewiring the lights. uggh.
adborowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:49 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,571
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


The easiest solution to this problem is to install a fusible disconnect (the kind used for air conditioners, hot tubs, etc.) where the #14 wire connects to the rest of the circuit. Install a 15A (or less) fuse in the disconnect. Only one half of the disconnect would be used, since there's only one hot conductor. This is a very strange solution and not a normal way to wire things - but it is safe, and as far as I can tell, code compliant. Fusible disconnects only cost about $15.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 03:56 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14g protection on 20a breaker?


I like it... thanks.

Advertisement

adborowsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 09:52 AM
Need help, breaker unstable Atroxx Electrical 16 08-08-2009 11:53 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker keeps being thrown (solution?) JH7800 Electrical 4 06-28-2006 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts