Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 10:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VA. BEACH, VA.
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

147 volts?


i have been tripping breakers . after replacing 2- 20 amp breakers and a 100 amp main i found my power to have 147 volts. isnt this high for a standard apartment? what do i do?

gusco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:18 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

147 volts?


Sounds like an open service neutral.
Do the lights in your house go bright and dim?
Does turning on the dryer or electric range have any impact?

I would call an electrician right away to rule out any problems inside your house.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

147 volts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gusco1 View Post
i found my power to have 147 volts. isnt this high for a standard apartment?
In MD it is supposed to stay between 126 and 114 volts.
Depending on how long the voltage has been doing this, some of your stuff will die prematurely, especially incandescent lamps.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

147 volts?


Sounds like a loose neutral as speedy petey stated.

Call an electrician asap, he will see if its any problems on your side of the service.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

147 volts?


If this is an apartment as you stated call the landlord or an electrician. Do not attempt to service this yourself.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 03:11 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

147 volts?


Good catch Joe. I glanced right over the apartment part.

I agree. gusco, DO NOT do anything other than call your landlord.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 05:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

147 volts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Good catch Joe. I glanced right over the apartment part.

I agree. gusco, DO NOT do anything other than call your landlord.
I would also unplug anything you don't need.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 04:55 AM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

147 volts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
I would also unplug anything you don't need.
I might also start unpluging anything you care about until this problem is resloved.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:07 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

147 volts?


A very good "rule of thumb" applies here: voltage variation is plus or minus 10%. I would contact your utility first; has there been significant voltage variations? This sounds to me like a step-down transformer on your pole, or another location in the neighborhood. Current increases to the square of voltage drop-see Ohm's & Watt's laws.
DRFREON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 05:54 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

147 volts?


Hey bcde871, SPAM much????
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 05:55 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

147 volts?


Well, three days and no word from gusco.

He was on the site yesterday. You think he would have given us some more feedback.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:21 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VA. BEACH, VA.
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

147 volts?


the voltage problem was the supply to the meter. dominion power fixed. everything is o.k. i thank you for the feed back. and not everyone is speedy,petey.
gusco1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 05:51 AM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

147 volts?


Sorry if I offended you Gus.
It just gets very disheartening when someone posts a question, especially one that prompts more questions, and then disappears.
We all make an effort to help and get no feedback, even to clear things up.

Thank you for your feedback.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:40 AM   #14
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

147 volts?


Quote:
and not everyone is speedy,petey.
Speedy you seem to get all the attention.......
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:54 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

147 volts?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Sorry if I offended you Gus.
It just gets very disheartening when someone posts a question, especially one that prompts more questions, and then disappears.
We all make an effort to help and get no feedback, even to clear things up.

Thank you for your feedback.
Agreed. Feedback from the OP is learning for us so we can better help the next person.

Looks like this OP posted and bailed.

Kind of like dine and dash, or gas and go.

__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to wire in appliance 240 volts, 42 amps ekulrenlig Electrical 31 08-12-2011 10:45 PM
240 Volts - 4 wire to 3 wire Richo Electrical 25 12-12-2008 08:50 AM
Neutral vs ground bullet Electrical 39 02-26-2008 12:18 PM
Does Home AC ever read 0 volts? step.gary Electrical 3 07-01-2006 03:57 PM
103 volts at switch? hawk1996 Electrical 1 06-01-2005 06:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.