Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 08:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14 guage splice into 20 amp 12 guage circuit OK


Is it ok to splice 14 guage into 12 guage that terminates on a 20 amp circuit?

The only thing that will be on the 12 guage is a set of recessed lights (4 lights at 50 watts each).

Anybody see anything wrong with that?

Thanks

Bakes

Bakes5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 09:06 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

14 guage splice into 20 amp 12 guage circuit OK


The breaker MUST be sized to the smallest wire in the circuit.
That being said, there is no good reason to mix wire sizes. Unless given NO other choice.
Going bigger after the breaker is not as bad as going smaller. This way there is no chance of someone not knowing putting the wire back on a breaker that would be normal for the wire.

Wire is cheap, do it the right way. Stay all the same size.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 08:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14 guage splice into 20 amp 12 guage circuit OK


Fair enough. "Don't mix" seems to be the common response.

I have a "friend" who may have mixed on an earlier project. Is it ok if he just switches out the breakers so that they are 15 amp? Then if they keep tripping go back and swap out the under sized wires?
Bakes5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 09:41 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

14 guage splice into 20 amp 12 guage circuit OK


If this is done then it is a really good idea to permanently label the wire with a tag
saying "15 amp only". This way someone in the future is not confused.

If the 15 trips regularly then a whole new circuit may be a better alternative.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Finding "Champion" brand circuit breakers? Jemo Electrical 5 03-11-2007 01:28 PM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 09:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.