14 Gauge Wires All Over But No 15 Amp Breakers - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2007, 12:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,302
Rewards Points: 1,038
Question

14 gauge wires all over but no 15 amp breakers


in my house that i recently bought, i noticed that there are all kinds of 14 gauge wiring in the basement but when i took a look into the breaker box, all the breakers were either 30, 50, or 20 amps - no 15 which would correspond to 14 gauge wires. i did not trace back to where the 14 gauge go to in the box, as there is a mess down there but could this be raising a red flag or is there a positive explanation that would justify this occurence ?

thanks,

- a

Advertisement

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 04:18 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14 gauge wires all over but no 15 amp breakers


I'm not a pro electrician, just a 50-year+ DIYer, but no 14g circuit wiring should be on anything larger than a 15 amp breaker, as you apparently know.
It has to be 12g or larger to be on 20 amp or anything higher. The 30 amp breaker is probably for your electric water heater (which should have at least 10g wiring) and the 50 amp is probably for your range or HVAC unit, etc.
Sounds like you may just need to change out some breakers to 15 amp for any and all 14g wiring, which should be fine for most residential lighting and receptacle circuits.
I have no 14g, but ALL wiring in my house is no smaller than 12g by choice when I built it...some on 15 amp (lighting) circuits, but most on 20 amp (receptacle) circuits.
It's easy to change a circuit breaker IF you're an experienced DIYer with electrical knowledge. (CALL A PRO ELECTRICIAN, IF NOT.)
Turn OFF the MAIN panel breaker to do it of course, but remember that the two legs above the main are still HOT (120V each) even with the main breaker off and either can kill you if you touch them. TEST the panel with a voltage meter before touching anything, because sometimes a main breaker may be faulty. Just exchange the black (hot) wire on the 20 amp breakers to the 15 amp breakers. The 14g white (neutral) and grounds should be O.K. where they're already connected in the panel, but double-check them anyway.
Good luck!
Mike

Advertisement


Last edited by Mike Swearingen; 05-16-2007 at 04:28 AM.
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 05:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14 gauge wires all over but no 15 amp breakers


mike said it all. It would be hard to imporove on that post.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 09:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

14 gauge wires all over but no 15 amp breakers


Wow. Did you have a home inspection performed prior to buying the home? If so, you may want to have a little talk with the inspector about the costs of fixing a very dangerous issue they missed.
Beren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2007, 09:47 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14 gauge wires all over but no 15 amp breakers


In some parts of the country it is typical in older homes to find switch legs and 3way switch wiring in 14ga and the branch circuit wires in 12ga, all protected by 20A breakers. You may find that all the 20A breakers have 12ga wire attached. If that is the case, then this is not something a typical home inspector would have detected. Find out which circuits have the 14ga wire and, as Mike said, replace the breaker with a 15A.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 07:08 PM
10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line hsdude1992 Electrical 5 06-30-2007 02:36 PM
Running wires mt232 Electrical 4 03-22-2007 09:02 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts