Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2008, 05:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14 awg circuit connected to 12 awg wiring?


I recently discovered an unlicensed person who wired my basement used 14 awg for a 15 amp circuit...yes thats ok but, the basement was remodeled from a 1960s wiring, the person terminated 12 awg armored cable to a plastic box and connected the 12 awg to 14 awg romex wiring. They connected the bare copper wire of the romex to the jacket of the armored cable for gnd. I tested for resistance and there is not really any resistance of the copper wire with the jacket. Is this really a big deal? I know it isnt code after I read up on this. But is there any imminent danger from this? The circuit is 15 ampere, so both conductors handle it perfectly. I could rerun the other end of the circuit with 14/2 romex. But is it ok to leave it like it is?

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:16 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14 awg circuit connected to 12 awg wiring?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
the person terminated 12 awg armored cable to a plastic box ,They connected the bare copper wire of the romex to the jacket of the armored cable for gnd.
Buy a bonding bushing with a lug to fix this problem.



Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
and connected the 12 awg to 14 awg romex wiring. I know it isnt code after I read up on this. But is there any imminent danger from this? The circuit is 15 ampere, so both conductors handle it perfectly. I could rerun the other end of the circuit with 14/2 romex. But is it ok to leave it like it is?
As long as the circuit breaker is 15 amps your good to go.


Last edited by chris75; 07-05-2008 at 05:19 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 08:37 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14 awg circuit connected to 12 awg wiring?


I would replace the plastic box with a metal box. Then use the proper connectors, and also bond the metal box to the grounding conductor. Terminating flexible metal conduit in a plastic box screams hack job. And as far as I know, there is no plastic box listed and approved for use with metal conduit.

If the circuit is protected with a 15 amp breaker there is no problem with the wire size as Chris said.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 08:43 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14 awg circuit connected to 12 awg wiring?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Terminating flexible metal conduit in a plastic box screams hack job.
Cant argue with that, but didnt really see a sense in making a mess of the wall if it wasn't accessible.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable romex 14/2 12/2


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a new circuit jayp Electrical 3 06-13-2008 08:50 AM
dimmer switch circuit wiring stan_d_bballman Electrical 2 11-17-2007 12:44 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Circuit Wiring for Garage Fluorescents realeyz Electrical 6 12-26-2005 04:27 AM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.