Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 06:01 AM   #31
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Share |
Default

14 amp or 12 amp wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by cschwehr View Post

Do you think it is best practice to put a 15A rated receptacle on a circuit that is rated for 20A in the case of a fault on a device? I understand for regular draw, the devices are rated for 15 or less, and then even inrush is covered, but my question stands.
I am not going to stick with this much longer because I see you are trying to throw your own covert insults and innuendo. Let me guess, you are an engineer?

Thing is you have no idea what you are talking about. Do you even know what a "15A rated receptacle" is?
A duplex 15A receptacles TWO 15A rated receptacles on one device yoke. These absolutely do have a 20A feed-thru rating. A fault on this device is NO different than a fault on ANY 20A rated device.

Once again, knowing where one is from (at least the country) would have cleared a lot of this up from the start.
Just because something is code required in one place does NOT mean it is better or safer that in another area that does not require the same thing. This happens to be one of Canada's codes that I think is completely absurd. There is simply no reason for it.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (03-21-2011)
Old 03-21-2011, 08:28 AM   #32
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 961
Default

14 amp or 12 amp wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I am not going to stick with this much longer because I see you are trying to throw your own covert insults and innuendo. Let me guess, you are an engineer?

Thing is you have no idea what you are talking about. Do you even know what a "15A rated receptacle" is?
A duplex 15A receptacles TWO 15A rated receptacles on one device yoke. These absolutely do have a 20A feed-thru rating. A fault on this device is NO different than a fault on ANY 20A rated device.

Once again, knowing where one is from (at least the country) would have cleared a lot of this up from the start.
Just because something is code required in one place does NOT mean it is better or safer that in another area that does not require the same thing. This happens to be one of Canada's codes that I think is completely absurd. There is simply no reason for it.

agreed, how many 15 amp receptacles have you seen destroyed because of overcurrent, because they were on a 20amp receptacle. My guess would be 0. I've seen plenty of them melted because of loose connections, but that has nothing to do with the OCP

jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.